We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset cruise and fireworks”
Review of Island Explorer

Island Explorer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 30 years experience in dolphin and nature cruises around Hilton Head Island, Capt. Jim Harkins and Island Explorer offers unique and memorable tours. With both 12-passenger and 6-passenger boats, Island Explorer can accommodate large families or groups and still offer intimate experiences.You may choose a Sunset Cruise, a 1-Hour Introductory Tour (only offered during the summer months), a 2-Hour Dolphin and Nature Excursion, or our 3-Hour Vanishing Island Expedition. On our popular expedition to "Vanishing Island" you'll view the dolphins, cross the Calibogue Sound, and have the opportunity to disembark on a secluded sandbar to search for sand dollars at the low tide. Evening Sunset Cruises will bring you to beauty of the Hilton Head sunsets along with scenic views of the marshlands, birds, and dolphins that make the Lowcountry special. During the summer months join us for a Tuesday night Fireworks Cruise. Our captains are experienced, friendly, and informative. Our mid-island location is convenient to every resort on Hilton Head. Parking is always free, and there are no gate fees. Our boats are docked at the popular island restaurant, The Old Oyster Factory Restaurant at 101 Marshland Road. With years of experience on Hilton Head Island and variety of unique cruises, Island Explorer will treat you to a memorable experience for your family or group.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the best night that we had on vacation. The trip was absolutely amazing. Our captain Cory was great with a ton of local knowledge. The sunset was breathtaking and the fireworks to cap off the evening was great. Look forward to doing it again next year.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank chrismrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandExplorerHHISC, Owner at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We could not be more delighted to hear that your Sunset & Fireworks Cruise was "the best night that we had on vacation." Captain Cory appreciates your kind words and 5-Star review. The whole team at Island Explorer works hard to give every guest an "amazing" experience. We'll look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain cody"
in 111 reviews
"sand dollars"
in 180 reviews
"hour tour"
in 107 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 97 reviews
"old oyster factory"
in 26 reviews
"captain rich"
in 13 reviews
"dolphin tour"
in 78 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 75 reviews
"great trip"
in 67 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 27 reviews
"star fish"
in 15 reviews
"boat ride"
in 52 reviews
"oyster beds"
in 32 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 19 reviews
"baby dolphin"
in 12 reviews
"oysters"
in 31 reviews
"hermit crabs"
in 12 reviews
Filter

86 - 90 of 1 223 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went out with Captain Mike yesterday and had a blast! He was very knowledgeable and knew right where to find the dolphins! Our twins had a great time and our teenager talked his ear off! We enjoyed the trip very much and highly recommend it to other families!

Thank Mandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandExplorerHHISC, Owner at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Mandi,
Island Explorer designed our 1-Hour Tour to be perfect for families with younger kids, and we're happy to know that your teenager enjoyed it just as much. Captain Mike thanks you for the 5-Star review and hopes you'll come see us again on your next visit to Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome. Going back for the Vanishing Island tour. Cody is quite knowledgeable of the surroundings and is working his way through school in the biology/animal sciences field. And not to forget a nice guy too!

Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandExplorerHHISC, Owner at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bill,
We're thrilled that you had an "awesome" Fireworks Cruise with Captain Cody and that you'll also join us for the "Vanishing Island" expedition. We're proud to have Captain Cody as part of our team of the best captains on Hilton Head Island. We look forward to seeing you on a future tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Captain Cody was GREAT! He was full of information and made our trip to the Vanishing Island very fun and education. We especially loved finding sand dollars and seeing dolphins!

Thank Jenwlowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandExplorerHHISC, Owner at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're delighted that your "Vanishing Island" expedition with Captain Cody was "GREAT!" It's always our pleasure to share our beautiful Lowcountry eco-system with our guests, and we've designed each tour to be a unique experience. We hope you'll come join us again on your next visit to Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took the 2 hour sunset boat tour with Capt. Cody and even though the weather wasn’t the best, he made the trip fun and interesting. He shared knowledge about the salt marshes and eco system and took us to areas where dolphins were easily visible. Loved it!

Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandExplorerHHISC, Owner at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Patricia,
Thanks for letting us know your Sunset & Dolphin Cruise with Captain Cody was "fun and interesting." Our mission is to provide every guest with safe, fun, and educational experience, and we keep a keen eye on the weather to make sure that even if it's not the "best" weather, that our guests are always safe and comfortable. We're glad that you "loved it!" Come see again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Explorer also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Island Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing