We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Ever Location, De-stressing, relaxing”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Edisto Island, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thatswhat...
Folsom, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Start, Poor and Disappointing Response”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a trip planned especially for my mother who was recovering from breast cancer surgery. We arrived at the beach house just before 4:00 p.m. To our surprise, we discovered that there were absolutely no toiletries in the house. The biggest surprise was, NO TOILET PAPER. I would not have minded if we would have been at least informed of this. When we asked about the complete lack of toiletries, the response was that guests steal them. The bed linens and towels we ordered were also not at the house. When I called Edisto Essentials, I just got their answering machine stating that they do not deliver after 4, and they close at 5. I had to call the owner, who managed to contact them, as that was the only way we were going to receive our linen request.

Here are a few other issues we discovered once we were inside the beach house.

-Only one bedroom TV working. Two TV's not working due to any remote batteries. At least one TV not working, even after we purchased batteries.
-Bedroom upstairs on right had bugs. Not sure what they were, but I saw about 100 small insects on walls, many above the bed. I initially killed most of them, but there were m
-Bedroom door upstairs facing street has panel torn away. Someone could catch a piece of clothing on it, and possibly rip it off.
Bunk bed rail screws are falling out. A child or adult could accidentally trap an arm or leg in between the rail, possibly causing a bad injury.
The bedroom upstairs facing the beach was missing a window covering, which meant that we had to provide a window covering for privacy.

After that first introduction to this beach house, I wanted to leave and take my family to a hotel. However, after sleeping on it we decided that the trouble to move and the loss of money we used to pre-pay for the beach house would probably be worse than staying. When we handed the keys in after our stay, we started to explain the issues we had experienced to the beach house management staff, but quickly realized that they did not care. The only response they gave us was that not receiving the linens was not their fault.

When we returned home, I documented our issues in an email that I sent to the owner. She stated that she would check on the items of concern. After a few days, the owner wrote back to me and acknowledged the issues; however she refused to consider any monitory compensation.

One star because of the hugely disappointing start.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for letting us know of your stay. Edisto Realty is local contact for the homeowners internet bookings but we do not provide check in information to the owners rental guests. That is one of the problems when using internet vacation rentals. Edisto Realty responded immediately with toilet paper for your guest. The other maintenance issues have been addressed and pest control has also been completed. Had you booked the reservation thru Edisto Realty you would have received arrival information to include what to bring to make your stay perfect. This a great big house and perfect for large families. We hope that you can come back and visit Edisto again, and consider dealing with Edisto Realty directly. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“There's good and there's bad.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

First, the good:

1) the people at Odisto Realty are great to worth with. We had several last minute changes in our schedule and they accommodated us wonderfully. In fact, we liked them so much I'm probably letting up some on this review.

2) it's quiet.

3) as close to the ocean as you're likely to get in a beach house and a beautiful view right out the windows.

Now, the bad:

1) good thing the view is so good from inside because the mosquitos will eat you alive if the wind's not up.

2) many dead cockroaches greeted us on our arrival. Otherwise, the place was not very clean.

3) two of the tub drains were very slow rendering them useless.

4) unless you're really into over-priced, mediocre fried food, prepare to make your own meals. Of course, that can be said of most of the Carolinas.

5) it's 50 miles to a town of any size

6) considering what you pay and what you get, why aren't linens provided?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2013
Thank you so much, we try very hard to make sure all our guests have a great vacation ~ the staff appreciates your kind words. You must have been here recently when the rains stopped - the mosquitos seem to always be around. Thank goodness we can usually count on a great on-shore wind, which will keep those pests back in the marsh. One of our main goals to to respond to a guests concerns whether it is cleaning or slow drains, please let us know and we will take steps to correct any issues. We love that Charleston is so close for guests to visit, but to come back to quiet Edisto Beach is the best. Thank you and come see us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Oct 2012
Nothing beats sitting on the deck with your morning coffee and watch that sunrise. The owner has plans for updating the house over the winter months. So be sure to come back and see the changes. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jul 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone what a great vacation you had at "Her Fault". Since your visit the homeowner has been to Edisto and re-stocked and updated all the kitchen items. Lots of time the whole house is rented to one family and what is upstairs will go downstairs leaving on are a little short on kitchen inventory. We hope that you will visit Edisto Beach again and think of Edisto Realty to help your plans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing