We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 155)
Filter reviews
2 155 results
Traveller rating
809
613
364
219
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
613
364
219
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviews original citadel evening reception cooked to order breakfast marion square free happy hour brick wall breakfast staff king street historic charleston within walking distance farmers market valet parking free breakfast cocktail hour location is great visitor center meeting street
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 2 155 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Excellent Service and thouroghly enjoyed our stay. The Management staff was superior.....Valet service was right on time and the Housekeepimg staff were always courteous and met every need possible... rooms were kept immaculate.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Relax160237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi!

Thanks for taking your time to leave a kind review for our hotel!
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us especially our phenomenal staff we have here with us whom we take a lot of pride in!
Thanks for choosing to stay with us among many other hospitality choices in downtown Charleston and we hope to see you back here with us again in the near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I would have given the hotel a higher rating because we did enjoy our stay there. It was very nice and convenient to the downtown area while there for a work conference. However, after we left, our card was charged twice for a weeks stay. When we called to resolve the problem, the lady at the hotel, Cathy, said there wasn’t anything she could do because she ran a search of our card and it was only charged once. After many long discussions with her, she wasn’t willing to help or search any further even though we were looking at our statement that clearly had two charges on it from their hotel. She just suggested that we file a claim with our credit card company. We had to search out our party of coworkers to see if one of their cards didn’t get charged. Thankfully, that’s what it was. But this lady at the hotel wasn’t willing to help at all. If you stay here double check your credit card statement!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Surrender1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This honestly was one of my worst experiences in an Hilton property. My stay began awfully, I had requested and confirmed with the hotel that all three of my rooms were together. Arrived on site, that wasn’t the case. The front desk attendant was awful and said there wasn’t anything she could do. I spoke to a manager and resolved that problem. The next series of problems were maintenance issues. One of my guest rooms had a malfunctioning bathroom light, they sent engineering and got that fixed. The same room was plagued with A/C issues that were never resolved. We called multiple times regarding this problem and they never could find the issue. During this whole experience, they never offered to move us rooms even when requested. This was unacceptable as it was over 90 everyday in Charleston. This property needs better management and major refresh to all rooms as they were tired and outdated. This property is not work the nearly 300 room rates. I’ll definitely will not return and caution those to book this property as well.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Biztraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

First of all, this hotel is in a great location. Second of all, I can't complain about the overall service or the value. This hotel was significantly less expensive than other options in this area, so I don't feel it's completely fair to complain about the much-needed renovations. The rooms are very dated. The carpet and bed skirts had mysterious stains and our room was dark and felt slightly damp. The made-to-order breakfast was decent, and the appetizers and drinks at the happy hour were a nice touch. Even though I wouldn't stay here again myself (I'd pay extra for something a little nicer), I would recommend it to someone who's not planning to spend much time in their room and needs a hotel in a great location for a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelingpr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary improvements.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
Despite the disappointment, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our phenomenal location in the heart of downtown Charleston within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions!
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and we apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Very nice hotel. Plenty of room and inner seating area. Loved the historical accoutrements. Good breakfast as ever. Within walking distance of all the places in historical Charleston. Courteous and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi Charlie,

Thanks for taking your time to leave a kind message for our hotel!
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us especially our phenomenal staff we have here with us whom we take a lot of pride in as well as our convenient location - we truly are located in the heart of Charleston historic district which is within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions and we are glad to know you were able to take advantage of it!
Although we are located in an old historic building, with continuous love, maintenance and updates, we believe that the archaic charm is what separates us from other hotels in Charleston!
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back here with us again in the

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews