We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 097)
Filter reviews
1 098 results
Traveller rating
667
314
75
30
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
314
75
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king street historic district great hotel free breakfast upper king indoor pool self park uber ride restaurants and bars construction noise parking garage lots of great restaurants within walking distance clean hotel sitting area free trolley would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1 098 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The hotel was very clean, modern, convenient, and safe. However, we were charged nearly $100 a night more due to being there for a conference. We only realized this when we decided to come in 1 day early and I was able to get the exact same room for $152 vs $239. With the extra tax it was over $100 more. When I spoke with the hotel staff they refused to let me cancel even though it was well over 24 hours ahead and rebook at the lower rate. They wanted to charge the full rate plus the lower rate! I spend about 90 days a year in a hotel and have never experienced this. Pretty shady! Always check all available rates before booking and don't expect staff to be helpful.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Byron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Pros: Clean, conveniently located. Complimentary breakfast with lots of choices. Rooms are large.

Cons: Parking is expensive and I come from the school of...”if you’re staying there, parking should be free”.
Meeting space was small for the number of people crammed in there.

Overall, it was good. I would stay there again without reservation.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank 743marciem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Really enjoyed the stay her at the Hyatt Place in Charleston, SC. The area is great and very close to downtown without the price tag. A lot of good eating places around. Service at Hotel was great. Would stay here again for sure. Love they have queen beds and room was very spacious. Breakfast was better than most hotels for sure.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank ShawnaoDonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great location in walking distance to almost everything. Room was clean and very restful. Bar and room service had great hours. Very accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful. Coffee was always fresh. Meet all my needs and expectations.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Discover273530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward F, Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We are always working to improve our breakfast offerings and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our offerings. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Nice hotel,room and breakfast. Just on the far and of the district and a lot of walking required in 100 degree heat. You feel a little removed from all the action. Especially with no real hotel restaurant

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward F, Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your review. You are correct that Charleston is warm in the summer. I apologize for the disappointment in your stay. Please let us know if you are visiting Charleston again and we will be sure to help you find one of the great restaurants surrounding the hotel to your liking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews