We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Palmetto Carriage Works
from US$26,00
More Info
from US$200,00
More Info
from US$16,00
More Info
from US$126,14
More Info
Reviews (5 733)
Filter reviews
5 283 results
Traveller rating
4 155
798
207
80
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4 155
798
207
80
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide red barn great tour different routes historic charleston great sense of humor hour tour harbor tour beautiful city rainbow roll mules dana ride monica history company lottery
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 5 283 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

It was a cold day and we set off with a full cart to enjoy Charleston. The exact location of the tour is determined by a lottery just as the group takes off. We pulled a pleasant area that did not duplicate our walking tour!

Our guide said that he was from New York and provided a really good experience. he gave just the right balance of humor, detail, reverence and safety. I was very concerned about the care of the horses and he explained the routine for their care and rest. I was glad that this was given because there were loud and critical activists commenting as we went by.

Interestingly, as the cart drove through a narrow passage, a gentleman who appeared to be in his 70s insisted upon passing the cart before the driver could accommodate all of the con-ditions of the intersection. He was driving a large SUV and as he pulled up next to our group, looked up and stuck his tongue out. It was quite vile, and unnecessary as our driver and horse team was truly competent and respectful.

The history and commentary on some unique aspects of architecture and society were shared we had a really nice time and found that this mode of transportation was perfect after 6 hours of walking the day before and another couple of hours walking around afterward.

I think his name was Wes....

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank TravelWeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

I recently hosted a large group of colleagues on a one hour ride through some of the most quaint streets of Charleston on a Saturday morning. We were well treated that morning while four large carriages were readied for us as we set out for the tour. My carriage was driven by Jim/James a long time certified tour guide who was extraordinarily well versed in Charleston history. He was masterful in handling the pair of mules who carefully moved down the streets of Charleston mindful of the safety and welfare of us passengers. Jim did no t hesitate to privde the historical significance of the sites and our large group was greatly pleased and impressed with his contribution to our ride. It was most evident to me that Palmetto Carriage is the gold standard of carriage tours in Charleston. They are most attentive to their passengers and the health of their mules.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank frklare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

What a great review! Thank you so much. Jim is the best and he loves Charleston and her history and most of all, he loves our animals. We appreciate you choosing Palmetto and we would love to see y'all again.

Deb
PCW Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

My friends and I had a wonderful tour of historic Charleston with Palmetto Carriage Works. We also enjoyed the adorable barn cat, Nugget, who we visited with prior to starting our tour.

Date of experience: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Compass59272310463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for the five stars--Nugget loves attention so he likes to hang out on the dock. We appreciate you touring with Palmetto and we would love to see y'all again.

Deb
PCW Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Interesting and comprehensive information throughout the tour. My wife and I deemed the tour guide as the best we have ever had.

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Passenger25389147071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review and we appreciate you choosing Palmetto for your carriage tour of Charleston.

Deb
PCW Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Energetic and intelligent tour guide. One could tell that there was overwhelming care for the animals. Insights into the city even if a poor straw was chose in terms of the area we were given.

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Olivertilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank for touring with us and thank you for noticing the care our animals receive. We would love to see y'all again.

Deb
PCW Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Explination of horse schedual was thorough. Clean. Wonderful experience. My only suggestion is lap children need more space. A three year old will not stay on a lap for an hour ride.

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Coastal41269529672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the review and the suggestion. We appreciate you touring with us and we would love to see y'all again.

Deb
PCW Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews