We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A focus on history ”

Charleston in a Nutshell
Ranked #16 of 238 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Charleston in a Nutshell is the ideal walking tour for sightseers who have a limited amount of time yet want to visit the "must-see" places. Learn about the city's history, architecture, and culture with historian Jeff Zimmerman. Jeff has been a licensed guide since 1997 and is an eighth generation carolinian. You will also go off the beaten path to seldom seen places that are off limits to bus and carriage tours. I also offer group and private tours upon request.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Jeff is a knowledgeable guide who walked us through the history of Charleston while throwing in current tidbits about what’s happening now. He pointed out interesting sites and the stories behind them. I appreciated that he pointed out several vantage points that made good photos.

Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 64 reviews
"civil war tour"
in 17 reviews
"nutshell tour"
in 8 reviews
"morning tour"
in 14 reviews
"candlelight tour"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 22 reviews
"two hours"
in 16 reviews
"hour walk"
in 7 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 11 reviews
"extremely knowledgeable about the history"
in 3 reviews
"perfect length"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 11 reviews
"cobblestone streets"
in 4 reviews
"tour guide"
in 16 reviews
"interesting details"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 10 reviews
"small group"
in 5 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did the morning walking tour of Charleston, SC with Jeff and it was time well-spent! He was very informative, had an answer for all of our questions, and took us places we had never visited before. If you want to experience a whole new perspective on such a beautiful, historic city, give Jeff Zimmerman a call and do his tour. You will be glad you did!

Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed Jeff's Civil War tour. He has a passion for the history and the personalities that played a role in Charleston's experience of the war. It is fascinating and we recommend it to all. Charleston has such a rich and well-preserved historical district. A guided tour adds a deeper appreciation and is a great value for visitors.

Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Thank you Jane! It was a great pleasure meeting you and your friends, I appreciate you taking the time out to submit a review. The heat was so oppressive, so glad you still found my tour worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Jeff was a wealth of knowledge about the city, it’s rich history, the growth of the city, plant life in the city, the people, restaurants, etc. he is personable, approachable, and passionate about his city. The tour was just the right length both distance and time. I highly recommend this tour. I’m sure his other tours are probably just as good. I would use his services again

Thank waynedallas2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi waynedallas2018. I appreciate your positive review. Yes, there are many quality guides in Charleston, but so glad you decided to join me. Hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Jeff’s Charleston In A Nutshell tour was perfect. As a long time Charlestonian it was evident that he was passionate about what he did. The walk and tour were a perfect length and he added a great mix of history and humor. A must do for first timers in Charleston.

Thank TheProffittFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time out to submit a review. I appreciate your love for this unique city. I am privileged to be a guide. I love being an ambassador to visitors both local and first time visitors. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston in a Nutshell also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston in a Nutshell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing