We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Cottage
Kitchen and eating area study area with convertible sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Welcome to the Cottage
Kitchen and eating area
study area with convertible sofa
Living area with view toward the kitchen
Master Bedroom
View of the main house from the cottage patio
Carriage gates leading to the cottage
Cottage garden
Carriage gates and parking area
Master bathroom
View from Study Area to Living Room
View of front entrance
View of main house from Limehouse Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnotherHa...
Northern Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We spent five days at The Cottage and loved it. Everyone comments that the cottage is immaculate, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and superbly located for sightseeing. And it is. Also quiet, private, and, should you choose, a wonderful place for reflection, reading a book or enjoying a glass of wine. You could even work productively in this space, as the kitchen/dining table makes a good workspace. The king sized bed is firm and felt wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Heating and cooling are easily adjusted. Natural and artificial lighting is good. The fully-equipped kitchen had everything we needed to prepare breakfasts and simple dinners, including an oven for baking. The Bull Street Market on King St. and Normandy Farms Bakery on Broad were both a pleasant, relatively short walk from the property and provided delicious take-away, wine, fruit and greens, bread, and pastry. There are also restaurants galore, all within walking distance. We have stayed in numerous vacation rentals and this was one of the nicest. Chriss was a gracious host and provided a personalized tour of the first floor of the family’s beautiful, historic main house on the property. All in all, a delightful stay. We definitely felt like temporary residents in a very desirable neighborhood. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were really pleased with the cottage and I am really picky about places to stay. The cottage was in an excellent location, within walking distance to the historic district of Charleston, but out of the hubbub. We parked the car when we arrived and didn't move it until we left. One evening we did take a rickshaw back after dinner and it was only $10 from past the french quarter area. The cottage was very clean & inviting-- comfortable. Nice kitchen (you'll want to make sure you have coffee-- it wasn't included (wish it was)!). Also, there were no conditions-- we didn't have to wash the dishes (although I did), take off the sheets or put the towels on the floor-- none of that. It was so nice to just pack up and go without worrying. We were only there for two nights, but staying in the residential area made us feel like a local. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gashrink
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottege in great location and pet friendly”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
7
people found this review helpful

My wife, dog and I just spent six days in this wonderful place near the harbor in Charleston. Located South of Broad just 2 blocks from the water, this is a beautifully furnished guest cottage on the grounds of a historic home. There is a bed room with a 4 poster king bed, a small room with a fold out couch bed, a nice living room, breakfast room and fully equipped kitchen. There even is a washer and dryer. Only thing missing was an electric dish washer. There are big screen HD TVs in both the living room and bedroom with cable. There is high speed wi-fi. There is a full bath with shower (no tub) in the bed room and a half bath in the small room. There is lovely art on the walls and top of the line antique furniture. There is no desk so I had to work on the kitchen table which is a decent size. The house is set back from the street and there is a huge fenced in yard between the cottage and the big house that our dog could run around in. The location is fantastic in a historic neighborhood just a short walk to down town. The owner is charming and welcoming and the place was immaculately clean. It is not disability accessible, you have to climb 5 steps up to get in. There is even an off street parking spot in front. The pictures above are accurate if you want to see what it looks like, This is a wonderful place to stay and enhanced our vacation experience. It felt like a home away from home. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and antique furnishings
Liked least: no desk
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jools3274
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
6
people found this review helpful

This darling cottage is amazing. My husband and I rented it during a particularly hot spell and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The cottage is situated in the mansion district south of Broad, and is attached to the Pinckney-Shingler home. The proprietress, (Chriss) is generous and extremely knowledgeable about Charleston. She even invited us in to see the first floor and gardens of her amazing home. This rental is also pet friendly! While we could not bring our dogs, it was just really nice knowing that others can if they want to.

Long story short...we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya S
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic and Welcoming Accommodations with plenty of privacy.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary at Limehouse Cottage and we were so happy with the accomodations provided. We were pleased with how clean the cottage was. It was so nice being able to bring our dog Grady with us. He loved the fenced in area to roam around without a leash. We were located just 2 blocks from the harbor and we enjoyed daily walks. The area is just lovely and full of history. Everything in the historic district was a small drive from the cottage. Chriss was so welcoming and provided us a tour of their beautiful home which boasts true Charleston style. That was on of the many highlights of our trip that made it so special. We can't wait to visit again! This cottage surpassed our expectations with amentities and privacy. Excellent place to stay while visiting Charleston!! Thank you Chriss for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and cleaniness
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$275
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing