We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beef ribs Saturday only”
Review of Lewis Barbecue

Lewis Barbecue
Ranked #2 of 113 Quick Bites in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

The food is wonderful. The beef ribs are huge and the meat melts in you mouth.
The staff is working quickly to cover all of the orders and the line goes all the way down the end of the property!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank mail4cindyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2021 via mobile

Rumors to have best bbq in Charleston and maybe the world, turn out to be TRUE. Got there when busy but not insane so no wait to order. Hit the favs: sliced brisket, pork ribs and pulled pork. All delicious; tender, perfectly seasoned and more than we could eat so dinner tomorrow back home in Florida is set. Sides of fries and coleslaw were excellent too.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank D1739RDstefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2021

enjoyed every morsel of BBQ. they slice it in front of you and it was delicious, fresh and one of our best meals

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank scottpJ2912WM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

Oh. My. Gosh.
It’s the best bbq I’ve ever had. Seriously. You don’t need to go to other places for beef bbq, just go here. I will be back.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank MattSmall1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2021

While working in Texas, legendary pitmaster John Lewis helped to put Austin BBQ on the map. Lewis' La Barbecue restaurant was voted "Best BBQ in Austin." He moved to Charleston, South Carolina, in 2015 and opened Lewis Barbecue in 2016. Located at 464 North Nassau Street, in Charleston's East Central neighborhood, it specializes in Texas-style house-made meats such as smoked pork spare ribs, beef ribs, Texas hot guts sausage, oxtail and beef brisket served in an industrial-hip space with a bar and outdoor tables. The restaurant is dominated by massive, custom-made smokers that allow for Lewis' motto: "That's what 18 hours tastes like." Open from 11 to 10 Tuesday through Saturday and 11 to 9 Sunday and Monday, Lewis Barbecue gives locals and tourists an alternative to smoked ribs and brisket and sausage and pulled pork found in the Carolinas, Memphis, Austin and St. Louis. Or Chicago. After considerable debate, my wife and I decided to sample Lewis' lunchtime menu. My wife chose a pulled pork sandwich with cole slaw and fries. I couldn't resist going all the way, selecting a two-handed El Sancho Loco sandwich with pulled pork, chopped beef and hot guts sausage with pickled red onion, potato salad and cowboy pinto beans. I've never tasted anything like it. For dessert, we shared portions of banana pudding and chocolate pudding. In a town noted for great restaurants, John Lewis certainly has found his niche.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Lewis Barbecue also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lewis Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.