We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local food and brew, who could ask for more”
Review of Old Bull Tavern

Old Bull Tavern
Ranked #1 of 169 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Old Bull Tavern is a modern day Gastropub serving old world recipes prepared with care and where possible with locally sourced ingredients. The beverages offering includes craft cocktails, regional beers, and a comprehensive wine list.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Loved the ambiance, including the waitstaff grandmother photos on the walls! While the tables are close together, it actually facilitated meeting new people and having some great conversations along with truly awesome, excellent food. I would tell you what we had but I think the menu changes regularly. What I can tell you is everything both my husband and I had were fabulous.

Thank 3Anchors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

3Anchors,Thanks for posting your thoughts about your dining experience at Old Bull Tavern. Your positive post furthers our resolve to bring you our best.
Cheers,
The OBT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 1 124 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Love this restaurant. The menu changes so you never know what new wonderful dish awaits you. Always spot on. Reservations are the way to go!

Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Sara B, Thanks for posting your thoughts about your dining experience at Old Bull Tavern. Your positive post furthers our resolve to bring you our best.
Cheers,
The OBT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We made a reservation (highly recommended) and requested seating in as quiet a part as possible. We arrived, were warmly greeted and told the seating in the quiet spot wasn’t quite vacated and invited to sit. While we waited we were check in with twice to get the status of our table! Soon the table was ready and we were seated and served by an attentive server. We each ordered pasta, but different ones, They were fresh, rich in flavor and served quite quickly. I cook well and love pasta and can attest that what I was served was a delicious as I’ve ever had. I only wish there had been more! We topped dinner off with fine deserts. The meal was wonderful. But I have to add that what I observed was a place where the staff really seems to care, we were spoken to by name by the hostess and it was delightful to see so many young (30ish) people having such fun with friends. We would return there tomorrow! The only issue I have is the noise which is fierce; some sound deadening would be a very welcome addition.

Thank CasaUmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

CasaUmile, Thanks for posting your thoughts about your dining experience at Old Bull Tavern. Your positive post furthers our resolve to bring you our best.
Cheers,
The OBT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped by with another couple for dinner. We had eaten a late lunch, so we skipped the starters. The Sazarac was expertly prayed. For dinner, two of us had the duck breast with sweet potato/ apple sauce. Both reported it perfectly cooked and delicious. Another had the shoulder tenderloin and he felt the same. I had the ribbon pasta with pancetta, Italian sausage and a lemon cream sauce. Absolutely delicious. Another great performance by the Old Bull.

Thank Fletch1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

John H, Thanks for posting your thoughts about your dining experience at Old Bull Tavern. Your positive post furthers our resolve to bring you our best.
Cheers,
The OBT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We had the fabulous squash-apple soup and the very excellent blackened salmon on black lentils. We finished with superb butterscotch pudding and perfect chocolate tort. Both entrees and desserts we're plated with perfection.
We had an 8:00 reservation and took the first available table which happened to be in the bar. We would have preferred to have a quieter table but like many popular places, the acoustics throughout the wonderful Old Bull aren't necessarily suited for the road wiery.
Service was great and we'll probably visit again if we're back in Beaufort.

Thank slingulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

slingulator, Thanks for posting your thoughts about your dining experience at Old Bull Tavern. Your positive post furthers our resolve to bring you our best.
Cheers,
The OBT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Bull Tavern also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Bull Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing