We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food can be quite good, view is spectacular, but it's all so old-fashioned”
Review of Top of the 80's

Top of the 80's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Top of the 80's Restaurant sits right on top of the mountain, giving you the view of a lifetime. The fall foliage is a spectacular and heatwarming sight. In the winter, watching the snow fall from our dining room is like watching a white, winter wonderland. In early spring you can see doe and their fawn feeding on the green grass. During the summer you can see for miles with the clear blue skies.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stop at the Hampton Inn next door because of its convenience on a long trip we do once or twice a year, and it is very convenient to have a restaurant a few steps away. The view is really wonderful, and the food is pretty well prepared. But service can be slow if the place is crowded (it seems to be a popular place for dinner meetings), and some of the young men waiting on us could certainly use some training, though they were very pleasant. My husband had the turkey dinner, which is something he likes on occasion - I didn't find much that was interesting on the dinner menu but had a wonderful watermelon salad and an appetizer plate of baked brie (didn't taste much like real Brie but was cheese) and a HUGE selection of fresh berries, with little toasts drizzled with honey. So I had a very nice meal with these selections. The Dean Martin music in the background was, to put it mildly, odd -- since this isn't a hipster hangout (maybe Dino is so Out he's In again?), I figured it was just Grandma Dines Out tradition. Bearable for an hour. And the prices seems to add a premium for the view.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollockEnterprises, Public Relations Manager at Top of the 80's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks, Pat! We appreciate you stepping by and all of your feedback. Your thoughts and comments will continually help us to improve! Glad you stopped by; we are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

Atmosphere was lovely, especially since we had a nice table by the windows where we could see the view at sunset. The food was impeccably served and delicious. The service was outstanding. I have recommended this spot to others with confidence! And if you still have room - get the carrot cake!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gramm743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollockEnterprises, Public Relations Manager at Top of the 80's, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the magnificent sunset over the valley paired with a delicious meal. There's really nothing like it! We hope you will visit us again.

P.S. Now we want carrot cake!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

All four of us really enjoyed our food and the server was very good. They had a large menu and were very good about accommodating gluten-free diets. The chairs are older and the background music was Frank Sinatra. The restaurant could use a refresh of the decor.

Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollockEnterprises, Public Relations Manager at Top of the 80's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Hi Ann H. Thank you very much for your review. We will pass along your suggestions. We are glad you enjoyed your meal. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I stopped in tonight for dinner while traveling through Hazleton on our way home. Just expected a mediocre restaurant meal, but instead was treated to a high-class dinner with gorgeous outstanding views! Wine choices were outstanding and our service was excellent. I had the spinach salmon which was amazing! I always appreciate a restaurant that can serve a side of vegetables not smothered in butter and salt. They accommodated that request and more!

Thank janconover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollockEnterprises, Public Relations Manager at Top of the 80's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Hello and thank you for the review. We appreciate you choosing to dine with us on your travels. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We have stayed at the adjoining hotel on several occasions, it is always a treat to walk a very few steps to eat after several hours driving. Quality is always consistent. We were served by Wanda, a competent career waitress, she offered recommendations and explanations effortlessly. Food arrived hot, served to correct people. The valley view is always spectacular, a real plus.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollockEnterprises, Public Relations Manager at Top of the 80's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Hi John C! Thank you very much for the review and for choosing to dine with us while you are in the area. We hope to see you soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top of the 80's also viewed

Hazleton, Luzerne County
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
 
Hazleton, Luzerne County
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
 
Hazleton, Luzerne County
Conyngham, Luzerne County
 

Been to Top of the 80's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing