We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 133)
Filter reviews
1 133 results
Traveller rating
885
170
47
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
170
47
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour rooftop bar soaking tub bird cage spa room yoga mat interesting decor front desk living room cool hotel restaurant downstairs mini bar mellon square hotel experience corner room loved this hotel heart of downtown
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1 133 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

After reading many positive reviews of Hotel Monaco we booked a room to avoid a long ride home following our flight into Pittsburgh. What a treat! We arrived just in time to enjoy happy hour. The hotel halls and rooms are uniquely decorated. The hotel restaurant/bar offered a great menu for both dinner and breakfast. We can’t say enough about the friendly staff...from the bellman to reception to the wait staff. After accidentally leaving his IPad, my husband was able to connect with housekeeping who carefully wrapped it and mailed it back to him. The hotel is located in central city...easy walking distance to the cultural district, the hockey arena and the Strip Diatrict. Who could ask for a better accommodation? Thanks, Hotel Monaco...We will surely return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Phy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Phy2018-

We appreciate you leaving another positive review of our property! We are thrilled to hear that you were able to pit stop here for a relaxing evening! We will pass along your sweet words to our housekeeping team and are glad to hear your missing item was returned safely! We look forward to your return.

Cheers!

Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Tired of the same old same old? Hotel Monaco has breathed life into the ordinary hotel stay. They’ve coupled classic fixtures with quirky, audacious colors, furniture and fabrics. They fearlessly use color and mix mid century classic elegance to make your stay really special.

Want an example? It’s a historic hotel with an actual parlor equipped with a functional burning fireplace and a writing desk where you can write and mail (sans cost) post cards to family and friends.

They also have yoga mats in every room!!! I’m not a yoga-fanatic, but it was so relaxing to have mat in my own room to do some relaxing yoga before and after stressful work days. This was a Mich appreciates addition.

Where could they improve?

I loved the bathroom’s pocket doors and fixtures. I did not enjoy the odd half shower doors. I felt like I was taking a shower in a gym.

Also, the food in The Commoner Restaurant was disappointing. I tried breakfasts and dinners and honestly, given the choice, I’d never eat there again. For the price, the quality was lacking.

Overall, the hotel is spectacular and is close to many great Pittsburgh eateries. It’s definitely worth the price. I would stay there again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Melissa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Melissa U- We are thrilled to hear your stay was extraordinary! We certainly find our design to be a treat for our guests. We agree that our in-room yoga mat program is an added bonus. We would love to host you for a Monday night stay as well, we offer a yoga class in our rooftop meeting class on those nights! Furthermore, we appreciate your notes in regards to improvement. Feedback like yours is so valuable to our continuous improvement. We hope to have you back again soon! ]

Cheers!
Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

While you can never really go wrong with a Kimpton property, this one is fantastic. Was very close to everything I wanted to do in downtown Pittsburgh. The hotel had a fantastic renovation done. Decor in the hotel is lovely. The restaurant downstairs was very busy every night as was the bar. The rooftop bar is seasonal so sadly I did not get to try that. Everyone at the hotel was very nice. The room was of excellent size.

Room Tip: Depending on how late you like to sleep at least on a Sunday morning, might want to ask for a room not facing the church next door.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Preseton71-
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear you are a lover of the Kimpton brand! Thank you for your kind remarks on our design and dining options. We hope to have you back with us again next time you are visiting downtown!

Cheers!

Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Monaco just days after we got married last month. We were greeted in our room with a bottle of bubbly and beautiful little chocolates! What a sweet surprise. Hotel Monaco is in the heart of Pittsburgh, but we never once heard traffic or city sounds from our room. We were astonished by the room - so modern and beautiful, especially the bathroom! Everything was extremely clean and tidy. We enjoyed the complimentary wine hour when we arrived. The atmosphere of the hotel is wonderful. Each hallway and room is beautifully painted. The decor of the hotel matches its ambiance. The Hotel Monaco has their own valet parking, but we opted for the cheaper option of parking ourselves. The valet told us where the closer parking garage was, just 1/2 a block away, and we were able to easily park there. The service and staff were welcoming and wonderful during our stay!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Abigail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Abigail M-

Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your special stay. We certainly love to celebrate here at The Monaco! We hope to have you back with us again to enjoy our design and wine hour!

Cheers!

Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed here for two nights at this 4* hotel. The receptionist after check-in informed us that we missed their wine happy hour and then asked if we wanted a glass to take to the room-how nice was that! The rooms are uber cool, bird cages with inset lights, wallpaper in the entire room even in the back of the closet, leather inset in the desk, hounds-tooth curtains, a lot of thought that went into this funky, modern hotel. The beds were comfortable with multiple pillows. We had no problems at all staying here and had a great stay in the heart of Pitt. Valet parking was $38/night which you had to give 20-30minutes notice, they did have parking garage around the corner if you wanted to utilized. I would stay here again with no qualms. The restaurant was constantly busy in morning as well as evening. There are other restaurants and bars a couple of blocks away if desired. I gave my platinum IGH number and even got a $10 credit towards the restaurant.

Room Tip: I would choose a hotel room away from the ground level
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Magellan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Magellan24-

Thank you so much for your review! We are love to hear that you enjoyed the design of our property. We also appreciate all the notes you have left in regards to our location and amenities. We love to welcome our guests in with a glass of wine and it is great to hear you were greeted with one! We hope to have you back to the City of Bridges again soon!

Cheers!

Marissa Hozella, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews