We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
117
134
80
37
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
134
80
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenparking garagefront deskbasketball courtpittsburgh universityseparate bedroomcarnegie mellonmarriott propertiesshuttle servicethe sofa bedhome away from homeextended stayhot tubyogurthockey tournamentoakland areaworking order
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Built on the side of several tall hillsides, Pittsburgh, PA can be difficult to move around in. The Residence Inn University/Medical location is tucked into one of the neighborhoods and blends in well. A unique setting, with the check-in actually taking place on the third floor (enter through a ground-floor lobby), was a little confusing at first, but once inside you felt comfortable. The check-in was flawless and the counter staff at both check-in and check-out was fantastic. The usual great Residence Inn breakfast was well presented, and the dining area spotless. The entire breakfast crew was full of smiles and greeted you promptly. The room on the 8th floor was a studio design with more than ample space. It was clean and comfortable. The parking garage (fee required) was easy to navigate, and although this was a one-night stay, I would recommend it for any long-term visits to Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: like any hotel, away from the elevator
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank booslarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3896RIManagement, Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear booslarry,
Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center! We are so happy that you had an outstanding stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our unique setting, cleanliness and amazing staff! I will be sure to pass on your admiration to the team. Thank you again for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to seeing you on future visits!
Warm Regards,
The Residence Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The shuttle was get to get around locally Bob May was wonderful on pointing out historical places. He made u feel welcome to Pittsburgh. You never felt like you were putting him out of his way. Always eager to help.Its to bad he’s only driving weekends.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank regannnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3896RIManagement, Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear regannnn,
Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center! We are so happy that you had an excellent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our amazing Shuttle driver Bob! I will be sure to pass on your admiration to the team. Thank you again for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to seeing you on future visits!
Warm Regards,
The Residence Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Had a great stay while in town for a hockey tournament. Location seemed quite convenient. Slept well, though the room was like a blast furnace. Others staying in the group had to ask for their windows to be opened. Kids enjoyed the pool area and while the breakfast buffet was packed due to large groups, staffers handled fairly quickly and it worked well for us.

Other than the blazing hot room, the only issue I had was snow removal. We happened to be there during a large storm, and the front area of the hotel/garage was not touched. As a result, we faced a large amount of snow exiting the garage and the property and it didn't feel safe. Additionally, areas of the garage were very icy. Not sure if this is common or didn't occur when we were there, but this is a must for safety. Plow your areas!

Other than that, a nice stay. We'd consider this location if visiting in the non-winter months.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3896RIManagement, Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear cne24,
Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center! We are so happy that you had an outstanding stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our pool and amazing staff! I will be sure to pass on your admiration to the team. Thank you again for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to seeing you on future visits!
Warm Regards,
The Residence Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Visiting a sick relative at UPMC-facility. Great hotel,fair price and the staff was outstanding. Especially want to commend,Cecil ,our shuttle driver and Marlene,food prep employee. Glad to see there are friendly and courteous people left in the hotel business.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank genemachine2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3896RIManagement, Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear genemachine2000,
Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center! We are so happy that you had an excellent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our amazing staff, especially Cecil and Marlene! I will be sure to pass on your admiration to the team. Thank you again for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to seeing you on future visits!
Warm Regards,
The Residence Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Love my room! Nice and clean pleasant. Shuttle service excellent! Cecil Rice was very helpful and pleasant! He went out of his way to make my stay extremly pleasant! Cecil showed he is a valuable and courteous employe!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3896RIManagement, Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Robert F,
Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center! We are so happy that you had an excellent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our renovated rooms and our amazing Shuttle driver Cecil! I will be sure to pass on your admiration to the team. Thank you again for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to seeing you on future visits!
Warm Regards,
The Residence Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews