We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stephen W
Cape Town, South Africa

Not bothered

Review of Paradise Cove
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2015via mobile
Booked by their website - not answered!!
Spoke to them - was told that they might have accommodation and they would confirm - have heard nothing!!
I guess they are either too busy or not bothered - I guess the later.
Disgruntled Capetonian. But have found other.
Date of stay: November 2015
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
View from the main Lounge
  • eDreams
5.2 km from Paradise Cove
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 632
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 925
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 598
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 925
4.1 km from Paradise Cove
Free parking
R 700
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
  • Vio.com
2.7 km from Paradise Cove
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 200
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 200
2.5 km from Paradise Cove
R 885
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 885
2.4 km from Paradise Cove
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
R 1 400
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 400
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    R 1 400
2.4 km from Paradise Cove
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 954
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Paradise Cove
Free parking
Pool
R 2 429
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 632
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 942
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 336
2.0 km from Paradise Cove
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 000
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Paradise Cove
Free Wifi
Free parking
Relax at Sea Paradise
R 1 953
R 1 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 896
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 900
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 896
1.9 km from Paradise Cove
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Victoria Bay
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
81
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria bay southern cross comfortable beds beautiful garden wilderness breakfast accommodation surfers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We had an amazing stay. The cleanliness and beautiful gardens contirbuted to our expierence of the Garden route. The breakfasts were deliciously prepared, with finesse and elegant finishing touches. The hospitality we experienced ws great. We even extended our stay. Tersia is someone to be proud of and an asset to the owners. We wish to thank her for making our stay unbelievable. Henrik and Wilma

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wilma_vermaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We really loved it here. We were actually the only guests. (very start of the season) Room was spotless and everything one could wish for was in the room.
Not sure I like the idea of choosing my breakfast the night before, however it was nice the next morning. We personally prefer a buffet breakfast,
Also excellent restaurant recommendation the restaurant collected and dropped off with a shuttle bus. Not possible to walk any where from this location.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2015

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights.
First, the positives: The whole place is absolutely beautiful. We were in room 3 which was very comfortable and had stunning views from the balcony over the coast. The breakfasts were also excellent - beautifully presented and nice quality.
Now the negatives: We travel extensively all over the world and do our research but still rely on the local knowledge of our hosts. Unfortunately the manager on her own admission had very little knowledge of the area. She even described herself as a 'house mouse'. For example, she did not know about the slave tree which is one of the famous tourist sites in George. She also told us that she didn't like the Old Townhouse restaurant. Fortunately for us the German owners were staying at the same time and were able to give us a great amount of useful local advice, including a recommendation for the Old Townhouse which turned out to be superb (rated 7 out of 74 by Trip Advisor).
Other things that disappointed us were failure to replace a broken lightbulb in the bathroom, despite being told about it the day before; the manager decided whether we should take breakfast inside or outside - we were'nt given the choice; the Wi-Fi didn't work at all on my tablet (it has worked perfectly everywhere else in South Africa) and so on.
All little things that add up and spoil what could and should have been a fantastic experience if the main 'front of house' person had been more focussed on providing the range of services that guests require.

Room tip: If the German owners are not present, do your own research.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ParadiseCoveVicbay, Manager at Paradise Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you so much for your review and it is good to know that the room and the breakfast was very good. I am sorry that i offended you in anyway with my lack of knowledge but thank you that you place a review about it this way i can see your opinion and how you experienced It. I always welcome critism for that makes me work harder to be a better. I welcome you as our guests again in the future and may it be then that i will be a better host in your opinion.
kind regards
Tersia van der Meree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We again experienced Tertia and her team's welcoming and caring hospitality. The breakfasts were amazing and the stay was very comfortable even in mid winter. I already look forward to our next visit in this true paradise! Although this was a business trip we could easily stay here for many more days and explore the Garden Route.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LadyBird070
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Went to this amazing establishment for a solo breakaway and wow...was it worth it. Attention to detail...peace and quiet...very attentive staff...most amazing view from my cottage. Generous and beautifully presented breakfast. Really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend Paradise Cove for any romantic getaway or just a little rejuvenation of the soul. Well done Tersia...you have created a real gem.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank duttonscoverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews