We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
William L
Aberdeen, United Kingdom

This is Paradise in George

Review of Paradise Cove
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Mar 2014
We stayed three nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms overlooking Wilderness beach have views to die for. Tersia and team were so helpful and a wonderful breakfast, the fruit dish was so beautifully presented it was a shame to eat it - my wife had to take a photograph of it !The facilities are excellent with a lot of thought put into the design and room detail. As an engineer I was fascinated by the thatched roofing, just amazing workmanship. You cannot go wrong staying here and highly recommended with plenty to do in the area for a short stay. Railway museum in George worth visiting for the railway anoraks and Fancourt nearby for the golfers.
Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ParadiseCoveVicbay, Manager at Paradise Cove, responded to this review
Responded 11 Mar 2014
It makes the heart warm and gives serving a new flare when you hear that the Guests were content. Thank you for your review and it is good to know that you had a good time at Paradise Cove and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
View from the main Lounge
  • Vio.com
5.2 km from Paradise Cove
Free Wifi
Free parking
Multiple ways to pay
  • ZenHotels.com
Beachfront
    4.5 km from Paradise Cove
    R 3 250
    • Expedia.com
      R 3 252
    • Vio.com
      R 2 794
    • Hotels.com
      R 3 250
    4.1 km from Paradise Cove
    Free parking
    R 700
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 700
    • Vio.com
      R 561
    • Agoda.com
      R 700
    2.7 km from Paradise Cove
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    getlstd_property_photo
    R 1 400
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 1 400
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 400
    • eDreams
      R 1 400
    2.4 km from Paradise Cove
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 1 200
    • Priceline
      R 1 200
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 200
    • Vio.com
      R 1 200
    5.8 km from Paradise Cove
    Free parking
    Pool
    R 4 100
    • Agoda.com
      R 4 100
    • eDreams
      R 4 100
    • Vio.com
      R 4 100
    2.0 km from Paradise Cove
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 2 519
    • Expedia.com
      R 2 925
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 942
    • Hotels.com
      R 2 925
    2.0 km from Paradise Cove
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 1 000
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 1 000
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 000
    • Vio.com
      R 1 000
    1.9 km from Paradise Cove
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Victoria Bay
    Reviews (91)
    Filter reviews
    91 results
    Traveller rating
    81
    7
    2
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    81
    7
    2
    0
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews victoria bay southern cross comfortable beds beautiful garden wilderness breakfast accommodation surfers
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    57 - 62 of 91 reviews
    Reviewed 19 February 2014

    This is a really gorgeous, tastefully decorated hotel and Tersia made us feel very welcome, as did Bella, the Ridgeback puppy. The gardens are beautifully maintained and the views over Wilderness from our room were spectacular. Breakfast were served in a bright, airy dining room with fabulous views over the garden and were really delicious.The Outeniqa Farmers market, on every Saturday is just a stone's throw from here and well worth a visit.

    Room tip: All the rooms are beautiful with wonderful views
    Date of stay: February 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank HelenLanghammer
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    ParadiseCoveVicbay, Manager at Paradise Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

    Thank you so much for giving a review to other Guests to see and for being such a help in it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Tersia

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2014

    This is a really private and friendly place to stay. The manager bent over backwards to assist us and our requests (thank you Tersia). The rooms as decked out with all that you need and the views from the rooms are amazing. What a pleasure it was to walk around the immaculate gardens :) It is a few minutes drive out of George but a great place to relax and unwind along the Garden Route.

    Date of stay: December 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank StacaRaca
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 October 2013

    This is a lovely guesthouse located on the cliffs near Victoria Bay. The individual cottages are very comfortable and the view across Wilderness bay are stunning. If you are early birds, the sunrises are worth getting up for. Highlight for us was the great breakfast sitting on the terrace surrounded by beautiful gardens and sunbirds feeding from the proteas. The staff were very nice and Tersia, our host, was extremely helpful.

    Date of stay: October 2013
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Matt L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 October 2013

    This is a really stunning place to stay! We were a family of six (two couples and two children 11 & 8) and we all enjoyed staying in Paradise Cove!

    Tersia, our host is very helpful and welcoming. Felt like home from home straight away! This was helped by an e mail we received 2 weeks before our stay asking us regarding breakfast; wow, I have never received care like that before! All staff is friendly and eager to please. By the way, breakfast was excellent. The kids changed mind often but Tersia and the girls always managed to please them.

    Now those stunning views! I could see the Wilderness beach from the balcony of my room. Absolutely breathtaking! I felt I didn't want to leave that balcony at all. Wonderful for some impressive pictures as well!

    The room itself was spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. Beds were quite comfortable (although I got up at dawn as I wanted to see those views at sunrise). The guesthouse was surrounded by beautiful gardens and had a relaxing atmosphere.

    The location is perfect for those views, but also for accessing George town and the best part of Garden Route. We had a huge minivan for the holiday and driving that in the narrow road (one lane) up to the guesthouse was a bit of challenge but we didn't mind it after arriving.

    We stayed only two nights in Paradise Cove but I would go back to South Africa just to stay there again (a bit longer next time!)

    Highly recommended, you will not be disappointed!

    Date of stay: September 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Paul J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Paradise Cove S... V, Manager at Paradise Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

    Thank you so much for your positive review and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed it with us. Hope to see you again soon. Tersia

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 June 2013

    Spectacular views. Tranquile spot. Beautiful gardens. Very comfortable rooms. Tasty breakfast. A lot of attention to detail. We only stayed one night on our way up from Cape Town to Plett, but definitely could have stayed a few more nights. My car was even cleaned the next morning, which was a nice touch. Thanks to Tersia and the team.

    Date of stay: May 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ShaunBergoff
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews