We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome place to visit.

Had the best time skiing and tubing here. Staff were excellent and this small mountain packs in... read more

Reviewed 6 April 2021
Y2702BLrobertm
,
Babylon, New York
Great for beginners of all ages!

My kids (ages 8,9,12) and I took a morning out of our Woodloch Pines stay to try skiing for the... read more

Reviewed 29 January 2021
rwk716
,
New York City, New York
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
17
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small mountain bunny slope woodloch pines all ages beginners skiing lodge tubing resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2021

My kids (ages 8,9,12) and I took a morning out of our Woodloch Pines stay to try skiing for the first time! We had a private lesson with two instructors (I believe their names were Jim and Chris but I’ve always been bad at names). The instructors were so wonderful that we were not only able to go down the bunny slope after the hour but we graduated to the green and spent the rest of our morning there! The setup was great because two kids were able to pair off and continue on the bunny slope while I took the third kid down the green and then swapped for the next kid until each kid had two turns down the green. The last two turns of the green were kind of sharp and steep (but fun!) for beginners so I’m glad I only took one kid at a time. We had a great time! And hope to practice our new skills soon!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank rwk716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

We took grandchildren for first ski lessons and the instructor must have done a great job! By the end of the day , three kids (6 yrs , thru 11 yrs) were all managing on their own down the beginner slope. Later they managed a harder slope with their parents.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

We discovered a winter wonderland just 90 minutes from Manhattan. This resort has everything except long lines. Passes of every denomination including season passes ($225) Ski school, ski rentals, multiple restaurants, night skiing, beautiful views and minimal traffic.
Very safe, affordable and friendly.
Easy to rent one of the private homes in the community or nearby.
Skip the Woodloch ski and stay package since this is the mountain where their passes are accepted. Save money by renting a house next to the mountain instead. ( Masthope Mountain Community)

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadoraP, Manager at Ski Big Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Thank you for rating Ski Big Bear so highly. We greatly appreciate your business. We really enjoy serving families from the area and those that travel in. We have always been a good partner with Woodloch and their guests. Masthope Mountain Community also has great homes and amenities. We look forward to serving all our guests this upcoming ski season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2019

This place is wonderful. My family has been skiing here for 10 years. It is family friendly with everything offered by the larger resorts but without the lines. Also it is safe for kids.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadoraP, Manager at Ski Big Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2019

Thanks for making Ski Big Bear part of your family and winter memories. We appreciate your business and will strive to always make you proud to bring your friends and family to visit. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2019

Small mountain but not nearly as crowded as the other mountains in Poconos. Excellent choice for first-timers as they have a small and almost flat area dedicated for them. There is also a decent sized "bunny" slop with carpet. For beginners, the green trails are easier (long stretches of relatively flat trail) than Shawnee or Camelback and definitely safer as people don't go as fast. Intermediate skiers will also enjoy this as there are also multiple blue and black diamond trails. The terrain parks are pretty fun too. They also have a continuously running shuttle for the parking lots.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank zen3278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadoraP, General Manager at Ski Big Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Thank you very much for the review! We work to be a great place for families and new skiers and riders. We appreciate your business and hope you will return to ski with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews