We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event policy”

Pinnacle Ridge Winery
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Kutztown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award Winning WInery
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Went to the Winery on Sat. 6/16 to see Craig Thatcher. We were informed, not very nicely, either, by the "security" guy that we could not bring in water. That's ridiculous. We go to many wineries and have never been told we can't have water with us. It's a shame that a couple of immature yahoo's spoil things for the majority of responsible adults that attend these events. What made it more irritating, though, was the attitude of those security guys. Rather rude. I saw one of the guy's actually reach into a lady's purse and shuffle around it, looking, I suppose, for those banned water bottles! The past few times we have been there, the staff hasn't been all that friendly. We kept going back, though, for the music and good wine. However, there are plenty of other wineries that are much more friendly, where we are made to feel they are happy we came to their place. I don't think I will bother going to Pinnacle again. Too bad.

Thank mjbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Hi mjbchlvr,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We do apologize for your experience with the security team, and have spoken with them at length regarding procedures and practices.

As for the policy itself, you are exactly right on the money - we've had a constant problem over the years with customers attempting to sneak liquor into our concerts, concealed inside water bottles. We were regretfully forced to take this step, as the issue had been getting worse in the past few summers. Unfortunately, none of the bands we hire are free, and naturally we rely on sales to keep the concert series going.

Thanks for sharing your opinion, and we do hope to see you in the future. As always, an array of drinks. both alcoholic and non-, are available at our concerts; and additionally, we are happy to fill any *empty* containers with water from our well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the barn"
in 18 reviews
"tasting room"
in 12 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 15 reviews
"wine trail"
in 7 reviews
"tasting fee"
in 6 reviews
"music events"
in 2 reviews
"local wineries"
in 3 reviews
"special events"
in 4 reviews
"food truck"
in 3 reviews
"cabernet franc"
in 2 reviews
"leoni"
in 2 reviews
"gifts"
in 4 reviews
"concert"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

arrived in a limo with eight ladies. owner greeted us by scolding me for not seeing his tiny sign after it was too late and i already pulled into the entrance. met me at the car, before i let 8potential customers out. he asked.."didnt you see our sign"...i replied yes...and he then asked "then what are you doing here?" he may know how to pick grapes, but he has zero customer service skills. my guests had to ask permission to be his guests. the worst welcome anyone could ask for....once my guests returned to the limo, they complimented the warm service inside and the good wine. i will never return, first impressions in the hospitality industry are everything.

2  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

We are sorry you felt that way.
Just to clarify - this review was submitted by a Limo driver. I find your review interesting because you indicated that you did not see the sign but then you replied "yes" to me when I asked you if you saw the sign. The sign clearly states, "No Buses, No Limos, No Vans, No groups over six". You clearly violated our policy by driving a limo onto our property and by unloading a group over six at the entrance to our tasting room. Since you saw the sign, and you told me you saw the sign - I interpreted your behavior to drive onto our property and unload your passengers as being disrespectful of our policies. We allowed your passengers to enter as a courtesy to them. It would please us if you do not return in your limo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Staff knowledgeable and helpful about selection. Wines are almost all popular and award winning (tasty too). Check out the artisan balsamic vingers and flavored quality olive oils. All presented in quality bottleing.

Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks so much for stopping in and taking time to post the kind words! Just FYI - our summer concert series begins on May 19, and runs through October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

My friend and I walked in the door at 5:40 for a tasting and the woman owner was extremely rude and didn't want to accommodate us. We ended doing a tasting which took a whole 7 minutes. She was extremely rude and I would not come back

1  Thank larabrown85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Lara,
We are sorry you had a bad experience.
We treat our wines every night exactly at 5:45, with a dose of Nitrogen, so that they will remain fresh. After this is done, the bottles must remain sealed for the night. This is why we have always had a policy of ending our wine tastings at that time. You and your friend walked in several minutes after the wines were treated, and even though our hours and policies are clearly stated on our website - as well as posted in a sign on our front door - we made an exception for you and reopened the bottles just for your tasting.

During the tasting you two were clearly upset because it was almost our time to close when your tasting was finished, you and your friend both became belligerent and used a no very nice language, to the extent that we were unfortunately forced to ask you to leave. In all our 20+ years of business, we have never had to do that before. We deeply regret that we had to take this step, but your behavior was such that we were concerned about our staff. (note: it was already past 6 pm).

We are sorry, but that's our policy. We open daily 10 am to 6 pm. Last tasting at 5:45.
Every winery in the world has different policies regarding hours, tastings, and fees. We recommend that you do preliminary research on a winery if you plan to visit it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Great wine selection and unique wine gifts! Offer a variety of special events when the weather is nice. Small shop and friendly local business!

Thank Danelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review, Danelle K! Our summer concert series will begin on May 19 - warmer weather will be here before you know it! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinnacle Ridge Winery also viewed

 

Been to Pinnacle Ridge Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing