We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude owner ”

Pinnacle Ridge Winery
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Kutztown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award Winning WInery
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

My friend and I walked in the door at 5:40 for a tasting and the woman owner was extremely rude and didn't want to accommodate us. We ended doing a tasting which took a whole 7 minutes. She was extremely rude and I would not come back

1  Thank larabrown85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Lara,
We are sorry you had a bad experience.
We treat our wines every night exactly at 5:45, with a dose of Nitrogen, so that they will remain fresh. After this is done, the bottles must remain sealed for the night. This is why we have always had a policy of ending our wine tastings at that time. You and your friend walked in several minutes after the wines were treated, and even though our hours and policies are clearly stated on our website - as well as posted in a sign on our front door - we made an exception for you and reopened the bottles just for your tasting.

During the tasting you two were clearly upset because it was almost our time to close when your tasting was finished, you and your friend both became belligerent and used a no very nice language, to the extent that we were unfortunately forced to ask you to leave. In all our 20+ years of business, we have never had to do that before. We deeply regret that we had to take this step, but your behavior was such that we were concerned about our staff. (note: it was already past 6 pm).

We are sorry, but that's our policy. We open daily 10 am to 6 pm. Last tasting at 5:45.
Every winery in the world has different policies regarding hours, tastings, and fees. We recommend that you do preliminary research on a winery if you plan to visit it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the barn"
in 18 reviews
"tasting room"
in 12 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 15 reviews
"wine trail"
in 7 reviews
"tasting fee"
in 6 reviews
"music events"
in 2 reviews
"local wineries"
in 3 reviews
"special events"
in 4 reviews
"food truck"
in 3 reviews
"cabernet franc"
in 2 reviews
"leoni"
in 2 reviews
"gifts"
in 4 reviews
"concert"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Great wine selection and unique wine gifts! Offer a variety of special events when the weather is nice. Small shop and friendly local business!

Thank Danelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review, Danelle K! Our summer concert series will begin on May 19 - warmer weather will be here before you know it! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Tasting room was dark and crowded. Also hard to get someone's attention. Wines were ok would not go back.

Thank janine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Hi Janine,

Sorry about your experience! In the summer we do have to keep our Tasting Room cool and keep the lighting from being too intense, because this is actually is where we age our wines. Unfortunately, too much light and heat can damage them! And our cozy Tasting Room can fill up to capacity on the weekends! We would recommend coming on a weekday for a more quiet experience. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stopped at this small winery while travelling, having finished the day's drive and having some time to kill before supper. The facility has charm and is multi-purpose. If you're there on a Saturday in the summer, as we were, you'll find the road lined with parfked cars overflowed from their limited on-site parking, and the barn area will feature some pretty good live local music, a food truck (Sticky Pig--unfofunae name for that one), and a crowd of locals having a good time.

We had dinner reservations elsewhere and so we limited ouselves to the tasting room, where a tasting flight of six will cost you a modest $5. My wife and I collaborated to get 12 of their wines by coordinating our choices and sharing.

Compared with the many other wineries I've sampled around the nation, this was one good, not great. All of the wines were good, it's a matter of personal taste but my clear preference was their Cabernet Franc, which our knowledgable sommelier explained was still a bit young and would benefit from at least six more months in the bottle--so we did get a bottle and we'll see what it's like in December or after. Generally, their wines seemed quite similar to one another, with a tendency toward little fruitines, dry finish, and little nose.

It was an enjoyable visit, and fans of viniculture should enjoy giving them a try. Note: sign at their entrance says "no groups of more than six"--so if you're a posse, split up into subgroups when you enter.

Thank TR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

They have a nice tasting room with plenty of wines to taste. The tasting room is in the bottom of and old barn. I loved the smell of the wine barrels. They also have bands that come in an play in the top if the barn on Saturday nights.

Thank antelope113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad and Leoni K, Owner at Pinnacle Ridge Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi antelope113,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review! We truly appreciate it. Stop in anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinnacle Ridge Winery also viewed

 

Been to Pinnacle Ridge Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing