We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Motel(Yamba)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
138
79
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
79
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsco opclarence riverprivate jettysea birdsboat parkingwatch the worldovernite staybasic cooking facilitiesgreat bbq facilitiesoutdoor seatingfishing boatsdownstairs roomview of the riveroverlooking the watermodern furnishingsfish chipsrooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is in great location near marina and river front only a short drive to shops and main beach.
The room we had was a family deluxe I think they call it which was recently refurbished. It had a separate parents room with queen and 2 singles off the main dining/living area. Bedroom and lounge had large LCD TV with good range of channels.
The room had very tasteful modern decor with a fully equipped kitchen. Large balcony across living and bedroom overlooking the lawn and river front. The modern bathroom was the only real letdown and a big drawback with very poor water pressure in the shower .
Air conditioning was great with ceiling fans as well.
Amenities and grounds were great with ample parking, pool, tennis court, bbq and lawn area. There is a guest laundry on lower level.
The hotel also had some nice touches like magazines in room and common areas.
Staff were helpful and surprised us with Easter Eggs at door and hidden in all hallways and common areas for the kids.
Great hotel for family visits or holidays.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank MrBrad-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Modern family room that has been refurbished, great colour scheme used. Beds,towels and everything you need in the kitchen, we're all spotlessly clean.
Bathroom lovely and clean with all modern fixtures. Free WiFi, what a bonus...

Great location, lovely outlook, super clean and hosts very welcoming.

Couldn't fault the place, really enjoyed the short stay we had here.
We will definitely be back to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on lower level of 2. Much easier rather than having to go up and down stairs, could walk straight out to grassed area etc
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank rmbmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn H, Manager at Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed one of our lovely renovated family rooms and the location. We hope to see you again in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

have just returned to Brisbane after a wet weekend in Yamba . Stayed at Moby Dick again - because of the rain did lots of reading , sitting on the verandah watching the pelicans . Always feels homely here - looks like a lot of the units have been renovated - ours was done beautifully & even had a spa . They though of everything & even had games & cards in the unit - helped pass the time . Will definitely be back again & hope the weather is better next time

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have better views
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank holidaylover2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

It's a bit out of the way from Restaurants and Shops but a nice place to stay. The room clean and tidy. The outdoor area is great for family and friends to get together for bbq. Would recommend Moby Dick to anyone's

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MobyDY, Manager at Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the facilities and look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

I was initially concerned because the motel is about a 30-40 minute walk to all of the restaurants in town (I'm a whimp when it comes to walking in the heat), but I was delighted to discover that everyone seems to have a courtesy bus! We never had to pay for a taxi, we just rang the gold club, Yamba tavern bowling club, pacific hotel etc and they came and got us! It was brilliant.
The room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable. The shower had good water pressure. Reception was efficient and engaging. Air-con worked well. Very happy. Will stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Harriet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MobyDY, Manager at Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and your comments. You are certainly right that Yamba is well serviced by courtesy buses which makes getting around easy. We are pleased that the room filled all expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews