We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Only Place to Stay on Lord Howe Island”
other travellers have booked this property
Bowker Beach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Kitchen and Dining - Bowker Beach House
Kitchen and Dining - Bowker Beach House
Bathroom - Bowker Beach House
Bathroom - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Bowker Beach House - Lord Howe Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lord Howe Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CamperVan...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Only Place to Stay on Lord Howe Island”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This large and roomy modern one bedroom beach house has everything you could want to take advantage of Lord Howe Island's natural assets...it is in the perfect location in the middle of the inhabited part of the Island (a short walk to the beach and nearby eateries and shops); all the conveniences that a modern house provides (large kitchen, outdoor eating and relaxation areas, great bathroom; huge and comfy bed etc) and all the add-ons that enable you to enjoy the surroundings (kayaks, bikes, snorkels, backpacks, chairs, and the great sombrello, which enables you to sit in shade on what we otherwise be a shadeless beach). We can't imagine any other properties on the Island matching this one for comfort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience, comfort and hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica J
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon in Paradise!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to book Bowker Beach house for our honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect, the setting was beautiful and the beach house is simply stunning - we couldn't have wished for better! Lisa took care of every need and we loved the little thoughtful provisions, ensuring we had everything we needed for a luxurious stay. The location is fantastic, just next to the lagoon with an easy stroll to the shops. Thanks Lisa for making our honeymoon such a lovely, special holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howiem
France
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Secluded luxury on Lord Howe”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Bowker nearly a year ago for our joint 50th birthday splurge trip and just sort of knew that it looked like our kind of place. There's always the thought however that it might just not quite be as good as it looks on the website. We were delighted to find that it is even better - the hammocks have been replaced by loungers.
Lisa & Rod have thought of everything and you have to be a nightmare guest to find fault. The thing that just sealed it for us was that you are in a secluded haven of luxury - which for us was made all the better for not once hearing a child having a tantrum or even just the movement of other folks around you. If you want luxurious privacy then come to Bowker.
Lisa picked us up at the airstrip and gave us a mini tour of the island which helped us to get our bearings ( and we discovered that the liquor store is a minutes walk away) and then dropped us off at Bowker and showed us around the place. We loved it the moment we walked through the door. She made us feel so welcome and we just knew that if we had any queries we could ask her. We were stocked up with provisions and some beer and wine. Books and dvd's were plentiful and the outdoor activities beckoned with bikes, paddleboards, kayaks and snorkelling gear supplied.
Throughout our 12 night stay, Lisa popped round each day to freshen the place up and it was an absolute pleasure to chat to her about the island and to get a few tips about where to go and what to do. We will definitely be back as soon as we can because we loved Lord Howe and we loved Bowker Beach House.
(I did sort of toy with the idea of giving a rubbish review as we don't want Bowker to be booked up when we next want to go. Couldn't do it though as our hosts were so great and I dare say we'll just have to book at least a year in advance again!)

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanberraM...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island paradise, could not have been better!”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Bowker Beach House is the perfect Lord Howe getaway for a couple. Being picked up by our host at the airport and being given a tour of the island, having bikes, kayaks, snorkelling gear, backpacks and more included in the package, and transport happily provided to restaurants made the stay so easy and pleasant.
The actual accommodation was simply luxurious, with elevated boardwalk access thru the tropical gardens, extremely comfortable bedding, free wifi, books Foxtel and DVDs. Fully oufitted kitchen. large bathroom with separate bath and shower.
Would definitely recommend to any couple wanting something extra special on top of the magic Lord Howe Island location - will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great hosts, and everything we could need was provided
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Fitzroy, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an incredible pleasure to stay in a property as beautiful and well equipped as this one on LHI. Lisa and Rod really have thought of everything, all your needs will be taken care of as your worries slip away. Nothing is too much trouble for these very accommodating and friendly hosts. A little touch of relaxed luxury where you can do as much or as little as you like.
Lorde Howe Island really is heaven on earth and you won't regret a stay at Bowker Beach house - you'll only wish it could have lasted longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing