We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved everything about it”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Red Dog Retreat

A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Simple rustic charm - a place to chill out in the peace and tranquility of the forest. Snuggle up in front of the fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Simple rustic charm - a place to chill out in the peace and tranquility of the forest.
Snuggle up in front of the fire.
Savour the view and the sound of birdsong from your bedroom.
Soak in the spa bath and relax
Sit on the veranda and watch the wombats wander past.
Bedroom - electric blankets and goose down doonas supplied
Enjoy a romantic spa bath at the end of your day
Enjoy the cooler mountain breezes in summer
The view from our road
The lush rain forest vegetation
Red Dog Retreat - on 18 acres of ancient rain forest.
Our beautiful ancient stones
Such a tranquil place to contemplate and take in all that nature provides
What a view to wake up to....
A satisfied guest!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheActual...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is perhaps the nicest holiday rental cottage we have ever stayed in. We loved everything about it, it was secluded, quiet, comfortable and relaxing. A couple of highlights were the rustic bathroom and the verandah enclosed by mosquito mesh ... a lifesaver for people like me who get bothered by the mozzies. We've been meaning to go back for ages... actually writing this review makes me want to book it now. Expect us back in a couple of months! :)

(I might have the dates that we stayed wrong... hopefully won't stop this review being published)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I hope you'll come and stay again soon. We have made a few improvements since you last stayed but have taken away none of the comfort and quirkiness.... We can also offer you fresh free range eggs from our own chickens! Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Never been anywhere so fantastically relaxing”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I spent a weekend of most wonderful peace and beauty. The house was wonderfully appointed and had everythng needed for a comfortable stay. It was a joy to be in middle of the country and stil have ample hot water and a huge bath!
The local wildlife came out and it was just wonderful to be in such a peaceful setting amongst such beautiful and intact a natural ecosystem.
The air quality was something that I just cannot describe. I had the best stay I have had anywhere in Australia. After only a couple of days I felt completely renewed.
Can't recommend it highly enough, I'll be back as soon as I can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rustic design, with great comfort, set in an unspoilt natural setting
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withog
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My parents and I stayed for one night at Red Dog Retreat during the long weekend so it was a little pricey as expected. Sally has been friendly and helpful throughout the booking process as well during our stay, making sure we are ok. The cottage was clean, lovely and peaceful, equipped with everything you need including a log fire heater and electric blankets to keep you warm and cosy. Beautiful nature surroundings and we managed to spot many wombats, a wallaby and even a lyrebird! My only comment was it'd be great if there was a microwave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful environment and animals spotting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and for your kind comments. We'd love to provide a microwave but just don't have enough room for one - unfortunately!
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa M
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in a natural environment”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This house was a surprise because of its wonderful setting. Surrounded by trees, with abundant wildlife. Birds everywhere.. The house itself was really comfortable and equipped with everything you'd need for cooking. Sally the owner was particularly thoughtful. I highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing break from the big smoke.”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in the Fernery which was perfect for our family with two kids and two small dogs. The beautiful rainforest setting was complimented by a large lawn that is perfect for keeping active. Sitting on the veranda watching the sun set was a highlight as were the walks. Our 12 year old even suggested that we might make this an annual break. Can't wait to return to this rustic little cottage. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. Berry is only about 15 minutes away. It is a great place to stock up on gourmet delights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing