We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend. Fantastic house.”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden and table on North side of house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Some visitors
Kitchen table.
Looking out the sun room has a light and airy feeling.
Outdoor fire pit looking to the outside table.
Wombat on property, drive slowly at night
Echidna on property
Charming Eco Friendly Hand Crafted House on Rural 12 acres
Master bedroom.
Master bedroom bay window looking out to the native bush.
Ensuite with shower.
Main bathroom.
Hot outdoor shower and bathtub.
East end of the house and garden.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3 - 'The Montana Room'.
Bedroom 4 has a king single bed also.
Games tables and other play things area.
Aerial view of some of our 12 acres.
Bar be que and outdoor table area.
Looking to the North and more of our 12 acres.
North side table.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Guillaume...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great weekend. Fantastic house.”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Highly recommended.
I stayed there with my family (including young child) and everybody had a fantastic time. I wish we could stay more, but will definitely be back.
The house is fantastic. Perfect location. Helen and Dennis are very helpful and gave good information on the region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Thanks Guillaume, it was lovely to meet you and your family. We were glad we could help you out with your visit to Kangaroo Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The most peaceful property!”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Grey Gums and wish it lasted longer. the house is beautiful and the property is just stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
We are glad you enjoyed it Kylie, come back again when you can paddle the river.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“A beautiful modern home in a bush setting!”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Everything you could need for a few days away. A beautifully made modern home where our family did everything from bushwalking to cricket on the lawn and finished with marshmallows by the fire. Spotlessly clean and well appointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thanks for your great review Mark, I will make a better map to the river before you return with your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliff a
Bermagui, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Peaceful eco-friendly retreat with everything close by.”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our small group comprised of well seasoned overseas adventure travellers from 4 states meeting for an annual catch-up. We look for for a location with plenty of activities and accomodation that is fully self contained, environmentally sensitive and a few additional luxuries!
Grey Gums is set on a large treed property adjacent to a forest reserve. The bird and animal life around the home is amazing. Whilst sitting around the outdoor fire we were visited by echidna, wallaby, wombat and others and an abundance of birds. A walk from the property along the river to the town reveals even more wildlife.
The home is light and airy and has been designed on passive solar principles meaning that it requires very little heating and cooling, but the wood fire is on hand should the nights get a little chilly. There are 2 very comfortable indoor areas and several out door settings providing plenty of options for group and family accomodation and with 4 big bedrooms, everyone has plenty of space. The central kitchen has everything provided, including access to the vegetable garden for fresh seasonal vegetables.
The owners have provided very detailed information about the property and Kangaroo Valley ensuring that you can capture all the area has to offer.
We would love to spend more time at Grey Gums.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light, bright and airy.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your wonderful description of Grey Gums. We hope you can come back to experience more of Kangaroo Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhlmau
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great house for a few nights away”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Travelled with four teenagers for a few nights out of the city. The house was excellent and the photos don't do it justice. Can tell there was a lot of love and effort put into the building and maintenance - was immaculate. Kids played table tennis, fusball and pool non stop. Outside fire pit was a perfect way to end the day. Thoroughly enjoyed Grey Gums

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thanks, we were glad you were able to keep those teenagers busy and enjoyed our house so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing