We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
Destinia.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
166
150
55
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
166
150
55
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location boutique suite complimentary wine the sofa bed main beach great shower large room first floor coffee machine boogie boards secure parking restaurants and shops good size great place to stay short stay great facilities centre of town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2020

Waves apartments was very central to restaurants, cafes and beach. Apartment was spacious and clean. There was a morning juice and pastries for the guests and a nice area at reception for guests to relax. Also a communal area outside our room on the first floor where we had a few bottles of wine before we ventured out into Byron Bay.

Parking under the building was very convenient.

Will recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maps29017363992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Thanks Maps for your fabulous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020

My daughter and I enjoyed a brief two-night stay at Waves. We selected Waves for its location which was perfect. So close to the beach, shops and restaurants! We stayed in a boutique suite on the first floor which was great for us and not noisy at all. The bathroom was clean and large, the king bed was very comfortable and the sofa bed was fine for 2 nights. It was good to have parking included. The staff were friendly and the muffins are back!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjp921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

Our recent stay at Waves was very disappointing.
It turned out that there was only one garden style room as promoted in their advertising We got No 8. In need of refurbishment, old hard bed, ground floor close to main road to lighthouse, a very tiny narrow balcony with no seating,
It was hidden behind palm trees so very dark and almost depressing but at least it was a large room. The staff were quite polite but any time I mentioned a problem it was brushed off with a smile.
Complimentary coffee from pod machine was only at breakfast and the muffins were replaced with overripe old bananas. Instant coffee etc in room. Security was good. Roller door to garage was broken but they employed a security guard until it got fixed which was great as Byron is very busy and filled with a variety of people. Location was good too except that main beach nearby was totally washed away in the weeks before we got there. We will try somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MazMar735
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Hi MazMar735, thank you for taking the time to review us, but a few inaccuracies were quoted. We have 5 garden views on the ground floor , not one,, and definitely not quoted how many on any of our sites. We also do not quote balcony seating as that would be inaccurate. We have outdoor seating on 3 other room types that you did not choose. Complimentary coffee and muffins have been offered complimentary to guests for over 10 years. We stopped the muffin service given the restrictions put in place during CoVid which will be resumed as soon as we have been given the go ahead from the Industry watchdog, given they are not individually sealed. I do hope regardless of your concerns that you may visit us again in the future.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

On the positive side the hotel is brilliantly located - close to many top restaurants, and minutes to the main beach at byron and the walk to wategos. The down side was the offhanded receptionist we first encountered and the first room we were given. We had booked a deluxe suite with outdoor furniture and a small courtyard. What we were given instead was a dark room with a 30cm wide balcony which was totally useless. (room 5). I complained and asked when the room we had booked would be vacated as we were told there was ‘only one deluxe suite availble’ in the whole place. We were told we would have to wait for two days 2 days at which time we moved to the proper suite. It clearly was not the case that this was the only deluxe suite because when we eventually moved tonthe correct room (room 1) there were clearly 2 adjacent rooms with courtyards like ours.

There was no apology for the wrong room being given due to overbooking more than likely, in fact the people at the front desk avoided making eye contact!!

Also on the website it said coffee and muffins would be provided for breakfast. The coffee machine was there as were overripe blackened bananas suitable for making banana cake with. I understand that during Covid you cannot offer unwrapped food but surely if you cannot source individually wrapped muffins you can make a point to provide fresh bananas!!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank YvonneU679
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Enjoyed our stay at Waves. Room was large and clean. Position was good right in town. Can be a little noisy in the morning at times particularly where our room was positioned. However you are in town and Byron is busy so can’t expect silence.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bradyowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews