We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location for a Special Anniversary”
other traveller has booked this property
Afternoon Sunlight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Afternoon Sunlight
View from lounge Front of Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Afternoon Sunlight
View from lounge
Front of Cottage
Rear of Cottage
Romantic bedroom
Sunlit dining area
Winter warmth
Relax in the heated spa
A rainy day at Valleydale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Byron Bay, Byron Shire, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
29plymout...
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for a Special Anniversary”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I stayed here recently for 5 nights. When we opened the front door and walked in, the view was just as amazing as the photos online. Everything has been thoughtfully included to make Valleydale Cottage the perfect location to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Retreat!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking at this property, book it now!
The very first glimpse at the house is just beautiful. When you enter you feel instantly at home. This cute cottage has everything you need from dining table, lounge, fire place, stocked bookcase, cottage kitchen, bbq & gas stove, comfy bed, double shower & to top it all off, the spa & the views!
Do I need to say more?
The sparkling wine & beer and fully stocked wood basket were lovely touches.
Its all self contained so you can cook for yourself, but you have included, local bread, eggs, cereals, milk, tea, coffee.
Value for money is great! Sit in the sun or the spa, read a book and turn your devices off, escape from the world for a bit!
We would definitely do it again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful space away from it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A sublime experience!”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed two blissful nights at Valleydale! Without doubt, this sublime cottage would have to be one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed. The absolute seclusion coupled with the beautifully serene interior of the cottage has rejuvenated our weary souls and provided us with a much needed blissful break! To be able to enjoy the peaceful verandahs, look out to the mountains and green countryside, listen to the birdsong in such luxury was just heavenly! The ambience of the cottage was unique and the love which Chis & Rosy have imbued into their piece of paradise oozes out of every corner! Everything we could wish for was provided for - even to the Lindt chocolates on our bed complete with handwritten birthday wishes, champagne, well stocked library, fireplace, outdoor spa, and beautiful breakfast provisions. Absolutely faultless, and we found it difficult to leave! We had originally had to cancel due to conflicting arrangements, and Chris was extremely generous, hospitable and accommodating of our need to change dates without any loss of deposit. That sort of amazing customer service is a rare commodity these days. We will definitely return - in fact I don't think we'll want to go anywhere else! And there's a great coffee shop and general store in the little township of Federal when you're wanting a hint of civilization!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Faultless! However the cottage is a gem and the scenery second to none!
Liked least: Not a thing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay F
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A real retreat....”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The payback for following the owner's directions (in the dark), taking us on a seemingly long and definitely anxious route through winding featureless (at night) roads and eventually down a gated track was to arrive at the cottage to find lights on, music playing and welcoming treats. And waking next morning to fabulous views, amazing birdsong and the knowledge that you have 90 acres of stunning countryside to yourselves instantly banished the worries of finding the place in the dark the night before. Breakfast out on the balcony watching the birds; off to explore during the day and back to a pre-dinner glass of wine in the hot-tub under the stars - all perfect for a revitalising stay. No TV - hurrah! Books, games were available instead. Very comfortable bed, double showers in the bathroom which led out straight to the hot tub. Bottle of fizz and some starter foods were thoughtfully provided in case of missing the shops ....
Loved it. If I was to give some advice to future customers, I'd advise planning to eat in in the evenings. It's a long way to restaurants, a long way home and, besides, in how many restaurants can you sit under the stars in a hot tub either side of your dinner! The kitchen is small but you haven't come here to practice Cordon Bleu. Other advice: if you are planning to buy food and wine in Mullumbimby, everything shuts at 7.
Wonderful place for a couple to stay and recharge their batteries. HIghly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solitude, the views, the hot tub!
Liked least: I would have liked some better saucepans: a non-stick one for scrambled eggs for instance...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blissful seclusion”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in April 14 for four nights on our honeymoon and echo all the other comments on here; the location, peace and quiet, views, hot tub, bed, double shower, friendly personal welcome, champagne and general level of comfort are all superb and just what we were looking for.

However, we did find the cooking facilities, in a self catering property 20 mins drive to the nearest restaurant, a little below the standard we'd expect; little things like blunt knives, very dated saucepans, some greasy utensils, the lack of a full size oven and a BBQ that had been cleaned but left open for our arrival and was unfortunately covered in animal poo all contributed to this impression. Details maybe, but they make a difference.

Notwithstanding the cooking issues, we thoroughly enjoyed our escape to Valleydale.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion and views
Liked least: Quality of cooking facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing