We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Deua Tin Huts

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Braidwood, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EilleenE
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Deua Tin huts is located just 200 metres from the start of the trail to the Big Hole and Marble Arch in Deua National Park. Upon our (late) arrival, we walked inside a charming large cottage, a fire already blazing at the fireplace. We were staying in Paddy's hut so we had the luxury of having a 2 bedroom cottage (1 room with a double bed and the other with 2 single beds). Despite the late hour, Andrew (one of the hosts) stopped by as we were unloading the car to make sure we were settled in.

The whole cottage was very clean and tastefully decorated. The bedrooms were beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped and came complete with stove, oven, kettle, toaster and microwave. Note that there is no internet, TV or mobile reception which turned out to be fantastic as my son and I spent the first day playing board games (supplied), talking, tending the fire (wood also supplied) and cooking. The hut stayed warm the entire time, even overnight when the fire would go out.

Note that there are no toilets/bathrooms in the tin huts but they are conveniently located nearby. You share 2 large modern bathrooms (toilet/shower combo) and 1 toilet with the 2 other huts. During our stay we didn't even hear the other occupants of the huts.

The one tip I would give to people is to make sure you have all your groceries (if you are intending to make your own meals) before coming. Braidwood is the nearest town with an IGA and its about 20-30 mins drive (depending on roadworks). The hosts do offer hampers but we decided to not take them up on it.

There are also barbecue facilities and a small place to have a bonfire near the dam which was a big hit for my son as we got to toast marshmallows for dessert!

My son and I loved exploring the nearby Deua National Park and were so glad to have such a wonderful place to come home to after a big day bush walking.

Thank you once again to Andrew and Clare for providing such a lovely place to stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace and bedrooms
Liked least: One of the couches was uncomfortable but there was another couch and comfy single arm chairs.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane A
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful location, warm and welcoming hosts, charming and spacious room”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

while the Deua Tin Huts are a 40kms drive past Braidwood, the drive is worth it, with sweeping views to be had of the Shoalhaven valley along the way. We were later than I had indicated, but the host was charming and friendly. The way the huts are set out is really lovely, and ours (the Walden) had a view across to the hills on the other side of the river. Inside is very warm and comfortable, with a log fire already set, and very comfortable beds (2 singles in this case).
The property faces onto the Cooma Rd, but the road is fairly quiet with not much traffic.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruhaan93
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people and awesome location!”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great place to go if you want to have a great time close to nature. There is the shoalhaven river about 500m from the place and the views in anytime of the day are spectacular but particularly at early morning when the fog covers most of the hill, just enough to make it look amazing! and at night you can see all the constellations.
I had my 21st birthday with a group of 12 people and we just had the best time kayaking in the river and went bushwalking and the owners were so lovely and very extremely helpful and they made me cake and they were just really sweet in general. I will definitely go back again to see the wildlife. (birds, animals and their neighbours alpacas and horses.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: owners and shoalhaven river
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antics55
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Have stayed at these gorgeous holiday cabins a couple of times with friends , family and the grandchildren. We absolutely love it and the delightful owners are very welcoming and highly knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna and History of the area.
Apart from the beautifully appointed modern cabins all clean as a whistle and tastefully decorated with vintage furniture you have this tranquil Australian garden setting complete with dam right next to the Deua National Park. We spotted a platypus by the banks of the Shoalhaven River in the park and plan to go back for some swimming and a drift on the lilo.
The grandchildren love the walks - especially to that amazing sink hole and going on mushroom searches where we spotted over 20 different species. They have also enjoyed horse riding at the Saddle Club in Braidwood. It is worth picking up some bread from Dojo's an amazing Artisan bread shop on your way to the cabins. Best country retreat we have visited in the past ten years or so. Perfect !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous cabins
Liked least: Would have preferred a bathroom in the cabin but no big deal using the tasteful communal shower/ toilets
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue L
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect spot for a group of friends who want a weekend to enjoy nature or to just relax”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a winter long weekend in Deua Tin Huts and it proved to be a great location for 10 people, keen on birdwatching and bushwalking. The huts are very cosy and the kitchen in the largest hut had everything we needed to create communal dinners and room to seat us all. Our hosts, Clare and Andrew, were extremely welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. They joined us on several of our outings - there is plenty to do: walk to the Big Hole and Marble Arch, explore Wyanbene Caves and drive through the picturesque Jerrabattgulla Valley. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warm welcome and the warm huts
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing