We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prestigia.com
Destinia.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
310
268
136
61
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
310
268
136
61
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harveys bar golf course car park rain shower pro shop southern highlands round of golf playing golf buffet breakfast large bathroom spa bath two night stay mid week long weekend indoor pool wedding package
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2021

Deliberately booked this hotel out of town so we could go to the restaurant on-site.
Checked with management that we were booked with restaurant 3 times including day of check in.we were assured this was the case.
Took a stroll to restaurant during afternoon & asked at bar to look at menu.
Barman told us restaurant closed due to change of season menu & we would have to eat at casual dining. Not pleased to say the least.
Complained to front desk.
Heard nothing all afternoon.
Arrived at casual dining room to find that people were in restaurant.when questioned they said they had closed restaurant due to a wedding on site but they had changed their mind and re opened restaurant.
Very very poor form
Will never go back to this establishment

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank donat572017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We appreciate this and will pass it on to the appropriate department.
We are always striving to improve and reviews like this, make it easy for us to reflect, learn and improve.

Kind Regards,

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

Do not ever stay at this hotel. High priced & extremely poor service. Food very ordinary & expensive. Bar manager is a little meglomaniac & needs to be sacked immediately. Do not ever book this hotel. Absolutely shocking.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SeasTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We appreciate this and will pass it on to the appropriate department.
We are always striving to improve and reviews like this, make it easy for us to reflect, learn and improve.

Kind Regards,

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2021

We stayed for 1 night on our way back to Sydney. Love the Decor of the hotel. The room with 2 queen bed comfortably fit family of 4. Swimming pool was set to a room temperature. Its a beautiful view from our room. We also spent time playing golf. All staff members were really nice and professional, from the receptionist, bar and restaurant staff member and the gold shop

Room tip: Room overlooking the golf course
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hi Rosie,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review! We really appreciate it.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Gibraltar Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021 via mobile

The room was so dirty, there was a damp issue coming through the wall from them shower which made the whole room stink and the wallpaper is bubbling. The carpet hadn’t been vacuumed as there was things on the carpet, the windows had a small child’s grotty handprints all over it so it had not been wiped, the wall paper is peeling away in other sections of the room. The windows had bird poo all over them and the breakfast was ordinary. If that was their best efforts at a COVID clean we are all in trouble as that was terrible. All this for $1000 for a weekend stay. The hotel cleverly uses low lighting to disguise the filth stay away and save your money

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FrankieG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hello Frankie,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We are sorry to hear of your experience. We can assure you we have full-time staff on board, to ensure all rooms are clean thoroughly and up to the highest standard. We apologise about this particular circumstance.
We are always striving to improve and reviews like this, make it easy for us to pass on feedback to the appropriate department and improve. Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021

We've had a number of stays at this hotel which we have previously enjoyed and I've praised however, at this last stay we've noticed a marked decay in the property. The rooms and public areas are showing noticeable wear and are in need of refurbishment. We are in the restaurant the first night and had bar service the following night, where previously we had thought the meals fist class, there has been a change of chef and the quality of the meals reduced to average. At $75 per head in the restaurant for a two coarse meal (excluding drinks or a dessert) the food was very average and uninspiring...as was the Bar food (calamari was undercooked...I've had better in pubs). The breakfast, due to COVID, is serviced by staff from baymarie's which is understandable. The menu is very limited so any more that a two day stay makes the choice of a different meal impossible. Whilst the hotel have been a good stay and convenient for us in the past we probably will not return because it is expensive and not as enjoyable

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marquef59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We are sorry to hear of your experience.
We are always striving to improve and reviews like this, make it easy for us to review, reflect and improve.
Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews