We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect cottage in a wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2 Stippy Stappy

No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Front garden of No. 2 Stippy Stappy Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Front garden of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Kitchen
sitting room
sitting room
dining area
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
Master bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Master bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Master bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Twin bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Twin bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Enclosed private and safe garden of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Front garden of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Agnes, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed at this delightful cottage and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The cottage has been equipped to a very high standard. The kitchen and bathroom all seem to be brand new, including all the pots and pans etc. The garden is a little sun trap and we enjoyed having BBQ's out there.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and the level of detail across the cottage is just so welcoming. We have a small toddler which we told the owners ahead of arriving, and a cot and high chair were left on arrival. The owner was very helpful and genuinely wanted to ensure we had a nice stay.

The cottage itself is located right in the heart of St Agnes which is an up market cornish village. Heading into the village you have pubs, restaurants and coffee shops, a bakery and local fruit and veg shops. Head down the hill and you are less than a 10 min walk to the beach, great for surfing and kids. Again lovely places to eat and drink along the way. We hardly felt the need to get in the car once as everything is on the door step. We hope to return again next year as its such a stunning cottage, in a prime location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishing are lovely, location ideal with everything on your door step
Liked least: The walk up the hill from the beach. Although a beer at Genki is rewarding!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robday
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautifully equipped little cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is our third stay at No 2. It was great on our first two visits, it's even better now after a bit of a refurb. No 2 is centrally situated in St Agnes close to the bakery (100 yds) which sells authentic Cornish Pasties. There are close by a pub, little supermarket which caters for all your needs, fish and chip shop, fresh fruit and veg shop, pizza shop, 1st class butchers and many more independently owned craft and art shops. Two great coffee shops, Genki on the way to the beach and a new one called the Sorting Office up town. All within 5 minutes walk.
Great places to eat at the Driftwood Spars pub down at the cove with its own micro brewery, The speciality beer being Alfie's Revenge. Also the Taphouse centrally situated for great fish dishes. We spent a lot of time walking on the South West footpath which has fantastic coastal views which ever way you go. We also had a day in Truro with its fine Cathedral only 8 miles away. The cottage also has fast wii if a great tv with CD player and blue tooth speaker which we paired with our smartphone to play our music. I can go on and on about how good No 2 and St Agnes is we will be back again cos there is still so much to do and see. Did I mention the 1st class surfing at the safe and life saver controlled beach, great to watch even if you don't surf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness of all amenities and quality of cottage furnishings and decor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natemum
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Met and Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It was a long trip to get to St. Agnes from Pennsylvania, USA but we were well rewarded for the trouble. What a charming little town and what a charming little cottage! Every mod con you could ask for in a self-catering rental - even cleaning supplies which was so appreciated. I would sit out in the lovely little back garden every morning with my cup of coffee listening to the bird song and watching the robins and smelling those sweet yellow roses. St. Agnes is a gardener's paradise and Stippy Stappy has a sampling of the many plants in the area. So relaxing.
It didn't take long for my hubby and I to get used to the narrow stairway (the cottage does date back to the mid- 1800's) and we loved the well equipped kitchen and living room and very good shower and bathroom and all the little extra touches provided - the biscuits and milk left for our arrival well appreciated.
The location is perfect - short (although steep) walk to the lovely beach (I don't think anyone in St. Agnes needs a gym membership), butcher shop, bakery, greengrocer, and convenience grocery shop (which has pretty much what you need in drinks, snacks, and more groceries than you would expect). Also close to St. Agnes Hotel which is a very cozy pub and restaurant with great meals. And the fish and chip shop - can't forget that!
We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing getaway that is also in reach of some rewarding day trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and beach access.
Liked least: The locking systems for the doors.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your review and useful comments. I kept looking at the weather forecast for your stay and it looked quite mixed. I'm glad you were able to sit in the garden and meet our local friendly robin. He is well fed between the row of houses and the coffee shop, not to mention the crumbs from peoples pasties as they come out of the bakers!

I really hope your journey back to Pennsylvania was smooth and you have some lovely memories of your holiday in St Agnes.

With very warm wishes

Sarah and Steven
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineG...
Pattingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect !”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Stippy Stappy for the birth of my first grandchild. I couldn't book until I knew my daughter was in labour and of course her 'waters' went late at night! I emailed Sarah and by early morning she had replied and arranged everything.
We arrived to a beautiful warm cottage, fresh daffodils and delicious biscuits. The cottage was spotless, expensively decorated with fabulous soft furnishings and linen and fluffy towels. There is absolutely everything you need from hairdryer to wifi connection!
Needless to say we spent more time with the new baby than exploring the area but St Agnes has great shops and restaurants two minutes walk away, the bakery is dangerously close......!!
We are not surprised this cottage is outstanding, Sarah clearly cares that her guests enjoy her cottage as much as she does and has wanted to share all our excitement last week.
We will definitely recommend and be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A historic Cornish cottage....with all the comforts. Lovely owners.
Liked least: Had to come home!! .....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Ah Caroline. Reading your review has made me quite emotional. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I felt privileged last week to share in the labour and birth details of your daughter/new granddaughter and have loved seeing the photographs you kindly sent of your beautiful granddaughter. We feel incredibly lucky to have Stippy Stappy in our lives and love sharing it with people to make happy memories. There is nothing more amazing than the start of a new life. Wishing you very many happy times as a grandmother/nanny/grandma!

Thank you so much for writing your review, we very much appreciate it

Sarah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran M
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Faultless”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Simply fantastic. Our second stay at No.2 Stippy Stappy and it did not fail to impress. Stylishly decorated, wonderfully comfortable and generally to standard you expect to pay far more for. We returned once because we were impressed, we will return again because we do not believe there can be anything better available. A+++++

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing