We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, comfortable retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Picture Window

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portmellon, Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ClaireP32...
1 review
“Peaceful, comfortable retreat”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful 8 days here and couldn't fault it. Great location within walking distance of Mevagissey but far enough to give us some exercise - especially coming back up the hill from the harbour! Penwarne Manor and the barns are set in a peaceful and beautiful valley, sheltered from the winds and so quiet - wonderful to wake and hear absolutely nothing but birdsong.
The Picture Window was presented to a very high standard, spacious and light in the living area which was very welcome on the gloomier days of our stay. The generous and thoughtful welcome pack included our tin of the much reviewed to-die-for brownies - as well as food, a vase of lovely flowers from the garden. It was also more private then I'd envisaged in spite of being open plan outside, our decking was screened and we weren't overlooked except by the cows!
Well placed to explore the area. A highlight was the ferry to Fowey when we saw porpoise both there and back. Lunch at Sam's in Fowey was excellent as was dinner later in the week at the Polgooth Inn both recommended by the ferry skipper!

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort723...
1 review
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A peaceful setting with well appointed accommodation on the outskirts of Mevaggissy. The location provided a good base to explore, be it beaches, towns or attractions. Mevaggissy though a small hike has a good range of restaurants and small shops. The owner gave good communications and support making the stay most enjoyable and relaxing.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan R
1 review
“Really super stay , lovely accommodation, attention to detail ,”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Really happy to give the picture window a great review , we really enjoyed our stay . Accomodation was clean , new and well presented. Will definitely book again when we return to the region .

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneD70...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a cottage with two large bedrooms, two luxurious bathrooms and a spacious fully equipped kitchen, in a peaceful location, this is the one for you.

The owners provide a welcome pack that includes wine, bread, sausages, bacon, oil, tea bags, coffee and a homemade cake! And they leave you alone to enjoy your holiday - they live in the Manor House, so are there if needed.

Lots to see through the picture window, including a fox and gold finches.

Great location - walking distance into Mevagissey and close to Heligan and Eden Project by car. Also, can walk from the cottage onto the coastal path.

Perfect. Do not want to leave.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z8189YXan...
Dodworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Nathan and Vicky are to be congratulated on creating a modern, stylish and spacious property with a "middle of nowhere" feel, only 20 minutes walk from Mevagissey. The welcome pack, including home made cake, was a very nice touch, so much so that we found ourselves seeking out some of the cheese, biscuits and marmalade to take home with us. The kitchen is equipped with everything you might need and the living area has a large flat screen TV and modern comfortable furniture. When we started looking at Mevagissey properties we wanted five things. A sea view, somewhere that was within walking distance of the town and didn't look as if it had been furnished with someone else's cast offs, private parking and superfast broadband. It was almost perfect - just missing the sea view.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.