We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, well laid out apartment with amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Island View

Island View Holiday Apartments
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island View Holiday Apartments
View from the apartments Pat's Den Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Island View Holiday Apartments
View from the apartments
Pat's Den Lounge
Pat's Den Bedroom 1
Pat's Den Bedroom 1
Pat's Den Kitchen
Dining Table in Pat's Den
Fisherman's Loft Lounge
Fisherman's Loft Bedroom 1
Fisherman's Loft Bedroom 2
Fisherman's Loft Balcony
Tregwyn Lounge
View from Tregwyn Lounge
View from Tregwyn Lounge
Tregwyn Patio
View from Tregwyn Patio
Tremellin Lounge
Tremellin Lounge
Tremellin Bedroom 1
Tremellin Bedroom 2
Island View - Side View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mullion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra B
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, well laid out apartment with amazing views”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a very enjoyable week at the Island View Apartments, in Tregwyn, one of the two ground floor apartments. It is spacious, superbly fitted out, literally 'home from home' and comes with Wifi. Liz and Mark, the owners, obviously thought about detail when rebuilding this house in 2011 and it also has a Bio Bubble sewerage treatment system. A helpful book is provided containing all the necessary local information you might need, along with pamphlets and maps to help with trips. The property is situated on the coastal path for walkers and looks out directly onto the small beach and harbour. All the local people we met in the Cove were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend this lovely property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
765nigelm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location with wonderful scenery in a peaceful harbour”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was well sized and very well equipped, with great views from the balcony. Ideally situated for people interested in walking breaks, with the beautiful Kynance Cove nearby. A good location to travel by car throughout Cornwall. Good local amenities, particularly liked the food from the Cornish Curry Company and Mounts Bay Inn a nice pub, well decorated and great customer service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony
Liked least: The mattress on the double bed was uncomfortable and dipped in the middle. Probably could do with being replaced, did not support the body and caused backache.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, but a shame about the beds”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Whilst the owners have spent much time, effort and expense on conversion and restoration of the properties, unfortunately the beds in the ground floor apartment we rented were of bad quality with an extremely hard and uncomfortable mattress. So much so, that my wife and I did not have any sleep and vacated after the first night to an extremely comfortable hotel very nearby that we have used before. With an apartment rental such as this you risk all of the money up front with very little chance of any sort of refund, if you are uncomfortable or not satisfied. The owners offered us a reduction off our next stay, which we will not be taking up for obvious reasons. We felt that a partial rebate may have been more appropriate and would suggest that more money is spent on the provision of quality beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2014
300+ bookings and our first bad review !

Naturally we were surprised and disappointed when we received an email from this guest (several days after having left), informing us that they had decided to cut their stay with us short due to not finding the beds to their taste. We were very sorry that they had not enjoyed their stay and would certainly have made every effort to address the problem with the bed had it been reported to us straightaway. Obviously beds are a very personal thing, some people like a soft mattress, some prefer hard, and as we had other apartments free at this time we would have certainly offered the option to test/switch to a different mattress/apartment.

We would like to inform any future guests that whilst we obviously can’t guarantee our beds will meet everybody’s individual needs, the building/apartments were completely renovated in 2011 and at this time everything in them including the beds was brand new, and is therefore generally in still near-new condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippa22
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat Island View apartments and Mullion Cove, both lovely.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I went for a week with my kids when they were on Easter break and we loved it. We stayed in Fisherman's loft but previously stayed at Pat's Den and both apartments are of a very high standard and we all agreed we could happily live there forever.
We took our kayak and fishing gear and had a week of relaxing leisure. The kids also did Coasteering which they loved and last year they kayaked from Mullion Cove. You can book kayaking from Lizard Adventure next door.
We also met Liz and Mark and they made us feel very welcome and they genuinely wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
If you have never been to this part of Cornwall then you can't go wrong staying in one of the 4 apartments Liz and Mark own.
Also parking next to the accommodation is a real plus, has wifi and the price was more than reasonable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: high spec apartment, free wifi, parking at apartment, Mullion cove and best of all price.
Liked least: Not being able to stay for an extra week
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0sie333
Minehead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Megs view of Pats doggy den”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived the day after the valentine storm! My owners were excited about returning to Mullion Cove which had not changed since their last visit 15 years before. They loved the decor of Pats Den and the very welcome tea and biscuit tray and daffodils. It was very clean and had a porch where I could clean my doggy feet before I went in. I enjoyed walking straight from the den either way along the coastal path. Local people and other dogs were very friendly especially the warm welcome I received when my owners celebrated their 30th Anniversary at The Mullion Cove Hotel I let them share the doggie lounge with me. Also The Mullion Inn was very friendly especially as I shared a great roast dinner with Sammy and Simon( My owners daughter who played for hours on mullion cove when little and now 21 ) they did not stop reminiscing all weekend!! Nearly forgot to say the fun I had on Poldu beach whilst they sat and had hot chocolate!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog friendly, clean and such a beautiful setting when the sunset
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing