We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number Five Mevagissey”

Number Five Cafe & Res
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
Description: Mark and Debbie welcome you to number five in Mevagissey. Breakfast at number five from a waffle or tea cake to a full English (made with local produce, including the famous 'Etheringtons' wheal rose sausages and Colin Carter eggs.) Lunch specials of Mevagissey fish, delicious hand cut chips our famous homemade steak-mince burger or our new homemade falafel burger. Or just a snack or sandwich, our fresh soup is always homemade. Why not try our new tapas menu available in the day. Just pop in for a pot of tea or our lush Italian barista coffee made by our trained staff! Cake and homemade scones with Roddas clotted cream is available for the compulsory Cornish cream tea (don't forget it's jam first in Cornwall! ) Evening meals from 6pm, and our chefs will prepare your food to order, wether it's an evening fish special, a steak or a vegetarian dish I'm sure you will be delighted. (Call to book a table with us.) Save room for one of our gorgeous puds! We also have loads of gluten free, so just remind us if you need anything (everything from gf scones to a handmade gf beer batter! You will be spoilt for choice!) we also have dairy free and vegan so please ask.
Restaurant details
Description: Mark and Debbie welcome you to number five in Mevagissey. Breakfast at number five from a waffle or tea cake to a full English (made with local produce, including the famous 'Etheringtons' wheal rose sausages and Colin Carter eggs.) Lunch specials of Mevagissey fish, delicious hand cut chips our famous homemade steak-mince burger or our new homemade falafel burger. Or just a snack or sandwich, our fresh soup is always homemade. Why not try our new tapas menu available in the day. Just pop in for a pot of tea or our lush Italian barista coffee made by our trained staff! Cake and homemade scones with Roddas clotted cream is available for the compulsory Cornish cream tea (don't forget it's jam first in Cornwall! ) Evening meals from 6pm, and our chefs will prepare your food to order, wether it's an evening fish special, a steak or a vegetarian dish I'm sure you will be delighted. (Call to book a table with us.) Save room for one of our gorgeous puds! We also have loads of gluten free, so just remind us if you need anything (everything from gf scones to a handmade gf beer batter! You will be spoilt for choice!) we also have dairy free and vegan so please ask.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous food and service. Thank you. We really enjoyed the evening. Can recommend the Fish and Chips and the Beetroot and Butternut squash Parcels.

Thank Grahame R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Res, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you lovely comments
Our fish and chips always seem to be a winner, and the parcels are loved by our vegetarian customers also, hope you return soon.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tried to get in Monday night but fully booked , so booked for our last night , as it is feast week we got lucky and could book a slightly later slot ! Staff were fabulous and obviously enjoying what they were doing , crab hot pot did what it said !! Really stuffed full of crab and Hot !!! A great chunk of turbot on Cornish new potatoes followed, cooked perfectly and a really good size ( had an overcooked piece the night before half the size and £5 more expensive in a different restaurant) Hubby had the scallops to start and then monkfish in a creamy prawn sauce , we shared mains to get the flavours ( really delicious) washed down with dry pink fizz( starters) and a cracking picpoul de pinet (mains) !! To all at 5 keep on doing what you are doing And see you in the Autumn!!!

1  Thank cookiemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Res, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow thank you for a lovely review, so happy you enjoyed your meals and service with us,
See you in the autumn.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had some fish chowder on the keay today part of the Fish Sunday celebration it was lovely.For me Mark is still the best fish chef in Mevagissey. What we need now is to persuade you to put something like this with a gin n tonic or glass of wine on your OAP special there would be a lot of happy OAP s in Mevagissey

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Payticia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Res, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, and you enjoyed the chowder, it is one off our most popular specials, especially through the winter, and I will definitely look into adding to the OAP deal this year.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This delightful little restaurant was absolutely magic. The patron Chef Mark is a highly qualified creative chef with many years experience from a number good quality restaurants. Now in his own kitchen he’s able to demonstrate innovative and delicious dishes that you’ll not find anywhere in this end of the UK. After 2 weeks of dining in many high-end establishments in the Scillies and Cornwall this charming little place in Mevagissey is the tops.

For dinner, our first course of scallops in an orange and ginger sauce was exceedingly tasty and original. The flavours so complemented the lightly cooked scallops. A quality dish.
We then had the King of the Sea, Turbot, the chef's special with super sauce and garniture and perfectly cooked. Such a delight. Could any of this be overtaken by the dessert...not really....but the winner of desserts was a wonderful creation of apricots fried with honey and served with Italian meringue lavender and granola.....it was the best dessert that I’ve had for many a year!
The food service team complement the kitchen team, they are attentive, smiley and efficient.
It’s a must...... try it!

CONGRATULATIONS! .....Number 5..........You are number ONE!

Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Res, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

WOW...... thank you so much for these fantastic comments, comments like this make us as a team feel very proud & our hard work doesn’t go to waste.
This is obviously backed up by your own knowledge & experience in the industry from your own career, it was great chatting with you.
Hope you return on your next visit down here.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were wandering around looking at various places in this beautiful little coastal town and settled on Number 5. Lovely decor, friendly and attentive waiting staff. I had 1/2 lobster and my husband had scallops for starter and beetroot & sweet potato filo parcels. My lobster came with THE most delicious chips!
Very pleased with our restaurant choice and would certainly go back.

Thank mrspattendeni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Res, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your great comments, glad you enjoyed your meals, our chips are homemade and always receive at great response. Hope you return soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Number Five Cafe & Res also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Number Five Cafe & Res? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing