We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment in an ideal spot.”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Dining area
Lounge
Kitchen area
Kitchen and dining area
Wetroom
Kingsize bedroom
Front of property
Boats in the harbour
Feast Week Celebrations
Feast Week Celebrations
The Eden Project
Charlestown's tall ships harbour
Pentewan Sands
Mevagissey Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brigittec...
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in an ideal spot.”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were extremely happy with our two week stay at the Old Shop. John and Kate did everything to make it enjoyable, with attention to detail and great hospitality. Everything was very clean and the décor very fresh and pleasant to the eye. We are recommending it to our friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location and interior of the apartment - worth every penny!”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Staying in the Old Shop for one week, we had enjoyed the friendliness and hospitality of John and Kate even before our vacation started. Detailled information and patience in answering all the little questions that arose.

Arriving in the small village of Mevagissey one might be concerned where to park the car. Not with John and Kate who arranged a permit for the parking place right in front of the Old Shop. Does this mean that you are bothered with a lot of traffic disturbing your precious sleep? No, of course there is some traffic, yet acceptable and not a nights. Quite contrary, you step out of the door walk 10 meters and you are at the parking place. Great!

The apartment itself is absolutely clean, modern, well equiped with a full scale kitchen, A/C, waching machine, iron, hairdryer, two TV sets, DVD player, Xbox, many DVDs and games and so on..... excellent!!!!

About the location of the apartment - within 100m you find everything you will need. The romantic harbour, plenty of restaurants, a post office and a bakery with delicous Cornish pasties. Again excellent!!! We would recommend the Kingswood restaurant approx. 3km outside Mevagissey going to St. Austell where the food is delicious. You should reserve a table by phone (number on a sign outside the restaurant).

Is there anything to complain about? No. The only thing we mentioned to John and Kate was the bed of our teenage daughters which was a bit narrow. Yet, the girls slept well. With two larger teenage boys this bed might be an issue.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and we were happy to get the opportunity to meet the owners in person to thank them for there warm welcome and support. Would we recommend this place or even come back again? A definite Yes!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Support of the friendly owners, location and the apartment itself
Liked least: That we had to leave and go back home....
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Sorry about the problem with the sofa bed, We had to buy a replacement sofa bed in a hurry as previous guests had broken the original one. We can now confirm that there is a new high quality sofa bed (bought in January 2016) which makes a full width double bed. The sofa bed has a luxury pocket sprung mattress.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
540leeb
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Mevagissey Marvel”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Shop Apartment is amazing. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised at just how nice it was (even though we had looked at all the photos on various websites, none of them actually did it justice). It was clean, modern, had everything you could need and was in a great location too. There was a TV in every room, X-box 360 in the lounge (including games which my 10 year old son thought was brilliant), a vast selection of DVD's, fresh flowers on the dining room table and even Tea, Sugar and a bottle of Milk in the fridge. John and Kate had very kindly left a gift for my son (which he was very pleased with). They really do know how to make their guests feel at home, John had even arranged a Car Parking Permit so we could use the Sunny Corner Car Park every day.
The Old Shop is no more than a couple of minutes walk from the Harbour with it's lovely mix of gift shops, pubs and takeaways (a fresh Cornish Pasty is a must by the way). We ate out several times during the week and everywhere did a very good standard of food.
We managed to get the Ferry to Fowey and spent a lovely few hours there, before getting the Ferry back to Mevagissey. We were very fortunate on the return journey as a Dolphin followed the boat all the way back to Mevagissy Harbour. Apparantly his name is Clet, he is a lone Dolphin that has been living around the coast for quite a few years.
We also visited Charlestown, Looe, Perranporth, Healy's Cyder Farm, Holywell Bay Park and the Lost Gardens of Heligan.

What a marvellous holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location convenient for the harbour area
Liked least: Can't find anything wrong with our apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roy H
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find.”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The old shop is probably the best equipped holiday home we have had the pleasure to stay in. The owners John & Kate have thought of and provided everything you could ever want to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The kitchen is modern and very well equipped,the shower room is superb, the bed is very comfortable with good quality bedding. There is a good collection of dvd's and childrens games provided ( for the odd rainy day). The property is well located only 5 min's level walk from the harbour. We had a great week in Meva and will return soon to The old shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the accomadation.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing