We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Merrymoor Inn(Mawgan Porth)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Trevarrian Lodge(Mawgan Porth)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$343
US$334
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park, Cornwall(Mawgan Porth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Ocean(Mawgan Porth)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Seavista(Mawgan Porth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
58
26
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
26
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguinea pigsstatic caravangames roomlovely campsiteplay parksite ownersgas fireallowing dogsst mawgangreat holidayminute walkjust returned from a weeklovely walkducksvansfacilitiescooker
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Touring pitches rather cramped, the hard standing pitches are travelled with grassed areas between,the facilities are old and tired/ tatty
There are notices on just about every available surface telling you what to do ( or not do) reminded me of the camp site in carry on camping!
The notices take no account of a persons ability to understand them and they are presented in a wide variety of fonts and styles so good luck if you are not a native English speaker or have poor eye site etc
The main path off the site is between the bins so smells and is a haven for flies, more worryingly for two full days during our stay, there were overflowing skips and ripped open rubbish bags on the floor adjacent to the gate
The owners would do well to look at more modern parks and see how things have moved on

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunHavenValley, Manager at Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

First of all let me congratulate you on your first ever Trip advisor review.

When you pay your £50+ membership to the Caravan Club Mr Thomas they have 300,00 memberships representing a million people (they claim) so they can afford to change their toilet blocks as regularly as we change our cars

However when you pay us some £8/night/person ( +vat+b.rates ) which includes us providing unlimited hot water at both the wash-up area and in the bathrooms, unmetered electricity and a double size pitch, then the logistics are somewhat different on a small family run park – but I’m glad to note that the facilities were functioning, and clean and you are only commenting on their ‘fashion’ status. You didn’t mention the communal covered wash-up with free hot water at the sinks ? Did you get to use the Free-of-charge communal fridge & freezers – or the subsidised laundry – or the 20p usage microwaves ?

At this time of year we allocate a double sized pitch of approximately 16m x 10 m - so I’m not sure why you found it cramped .

You made your displeasure clear when you were on site. Unfortunately when we have dog owners like yourself, some leave pet food out for the dog, which when left uneaten attracts the seagulls, who then go onto something else –black bags usually, gulls being attracted to the most smelly bags of course. What a shame all the energy you put into this review and into that on-site personal vitriolic attack against me on such ( quote) ‘disgusting’ events was not put into reporting the matter to reception during the 2 days you watched the split bags – but then we accept that not all campers are helpful or considerate people.

I am not happy about the standards of maintenance during my absence but these (minor) things happen & there you go

As we are not a club, we don’t have a set of “Caravan-club-type-rules” to distribute so we try and inform people of things - such as not leaving out dog food - by signage, but It is a clear fact that many people on holiday who have come away to relax, do not read signs, so each sign needs a picture, a touch of humour, perhaps colours ? differing fonts ? etc etc – anything to try and make it eye catching and to try and get it read. Of course I imagine that rule 134(ii) subsection c paragraph 2 of the Caravan Club rules lays down exactly how signs should be presented – but that’s not us – and we don’t have the same budget for signage staff.

Your comment that the English can no longer put up signs because not everyone reads English – well,all I can say is ""be komentarų"" ( it means ‘No comment’ in Lithuanian)

Of course most of our regular campers don’t need telling these things but a few newcomers do for the benefit of the majority, and of course the 2% minority object to being told to be considerate to other people and then they complain about it - but there you go , as we said not all campers are helpful or considerate people - and if reading the signs is a problem let us know and I’ll send one of the kids down to read them to you


mes tikimės, kad jums patiks kitas atostogas, priklausomai nuo to, kurioje Caravan Club svetainėje lankotės (we hope you enjoy your next holiday on whichever Caravan Club site you go to )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

We were lucky to have been able to stay here, especially after a mixupwith with our booking at the campsite down the road.
Friendly, help-full check in lady.
Well maintained site, with clean hot showers.
Phone and tv signal not good.- but the pub has free WiFi.
Lovely walk to the beach which is dog friendly, as is the campsite.
Would defiantly revisit and recomendthis site to friends and family.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank TamarTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Just had a delightful week st Sun Haven with my husband and two dogs. The Cornish weather wasn’t as delightful however. The owners were very friendly and inviting on our arrival and very informative. We had a gravel pitch with H/U and we were close to a tap that we could refill without moving the motorhome. ( always a bonus in my book). The site was very quiet as still outside the busy season. The facilities were clean and the site is tidy and well maintained. I highly recommend Retorrick Mill a short walk from the site ( take a torch very dark on your return walk) fabulous food and atmosphere. Book in advance as very popular. The beach is lovely and clean and dog friendly. The pub in Mawgan Porth is dog friendly and has a great atmosphere the food was good and reasonably priced. We ran out of LPG whilst there and the site owners searched on their computer for the nearest garage that supplied, gave us a map, postcode, and rang the garage for us to make sure they had the gas in stock. Very kind of them. Mawgan Porth is ideally located close to many day visits to places of interest. We visited Eden project, Padstow, St Merryn, Constantine beach, Fowey, Castletown, St Austell, Mevagissey, Tintagel. After a whole week of rain we needed a tow out of our pitch on our departure-No problem the site Staff came along immediately after our SOS request and pulled us out.
Only negative was no phone signal or WiFi. But a week of not playing on our phones was a good thing. ( the pub up the road had WiFi) so you can get your “fix”

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

We love this site and have been coming here every year for the last 6 years. The staff are welcoming and the owner, Steve, could not be more helpful. This year we arrived in a monsoon and our pitch became very muddy and not really useable. We thought we would have to go home, but I spoke to Steve, and despite being nearly at capacity, he found us another pitch by the stream that was much less soggy. I can't praise them highly enough. We have small children and the quietness policy is perfect for us ensuring we all get a good nights sleep. The addition of food vans over the last couple of years is very handy after a day on the beach. We have been to other places, but Sun Haven Valley is our home-from-home. See you soon guys.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SpikeyFraggle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

It is beautiful, chilled and in a fantastic location! Could not ask for a better site. Have nothing negative to comment on. Short walk to the beach (again beautiful), amenities near by and the chickens/ducks were great!

Thanks for a great time and ensuring it remains peaceful, see you next year

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank chriskimbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews