We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer!”

The Travellers Rest Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Travellers Rest Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Travellers Rest is a beautiful Cornish village pub nestled between Mawgan Porth and Watergate Bay beaches, just a mile away from Newquay Airport. This pub is ideally located to relax and unwind as you take in the sights of the North Cornwall coast. Dating back to the 17th Century the pub has a cosy, friendly atmosphere and a fantastic range of the finest beers, ciders, spirits, wines and coffee. Our menu changes on a regular basis depending on what produce we get in from our local suppliers. We are passionate about great quality, home cooked, locally sourced , seasonal fresh food. At the heart of our pub you'll find our team. Its our mission to ensure each and every one of our customers, including children and pooches feel welcome and relaxed. ​ Martin, Natalie, and the Team at the Travellers look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A really nice pub with a friendly atmosphere and great local beer. We did not eat but the food going out looked really nice.

Thank davidw200986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We pride ourselves on looking after our lines and beer to ensure that are always of top quality, so we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your beer. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had Fish and Chips. Very fresh and tasty. The service was also super fast. The staff are friendly. Great ales to choose from. It got free parking.

Thank Basel_Runner_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Basel_Runner_1970,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are really pleased to see you enjoyed your meals and found our team friendly. Thanks also for mentioning the free parking.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

PERFECT way to finish off our lovely Easter Sunday family fun day in Cornwall! As close as you’re going to get to a yummy home cooked roast! Was clearly a very very busy day but the service wasn’t compromised! Nice friendly family atmosphere & we can’t wait to try some more of the menu next weekend as we have rebooked! Worth the 20 minute drive from our caravan & our family said was well worth their drive from Plymouth! Thanks very much!

Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Hayley P,

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review about your Easter visit. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your roast and found it a nice, family friendly atmosphere. It was lovely to see you back again at the weekend. Thanks also to your family for making such a long journey and for their feedback.

We hope to see you all again next time you're down.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Went in last night for a quick meal. Ordered just spare rips starter for myself. Very yummy. Good clean pub lovely environment and friendly staffs. Hubby had fish & chips. All good. We always come here everytime we visit mawgan porth. Will def come back. Happy customers.

Thank Mengky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Mengky T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are really pleased to see you enjoyed your meals and left happy customers. We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Mawgan Porth.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We called in for a pint on a blustery day, good array of beers on offer, saw some of the food being given to customers and it looked nice, next time we will definitely have a meal.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank 1969steveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear 1969steveb,

Thanks so much for writing a review about your visit. We are really pleased to see you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again for a meal next time you're in the area.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Travellers Rest Pub also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Travellers Rest Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing