We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“DON'T LOSE OUT ON A LITTLE GEM JUST BOOK IT”

Review of Rock House

Kingsand (with Rock House far right)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingsand (with Rock House far right)
View from the sitting room Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Kingsand (with Rock House far right)
View from the sitting room
Sitting room
Pool / Table tennis table
Sitting room
Kitchen
View from the Kitchen window 1
A place for relaxation (table extends to seat 8)
View from the Kitchen window 2
View from the Kitchen window 4
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom & view
Master Bedroom & ensuite
View from the master bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Family Bathroom
Hallway
Outside showing the front door
Range cooker
.
.
Our secret gate through the sea wall.....
View from the kichen window during filming of the Mike Leigh biopicMr.Turner
The Cleave (out the gate, turn right) full moon, spring tide
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kingsand, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clive M
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“DON'T LOSE OUT ON A LITTLE GEM JUST BOOK IT”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

rock house is impressive accomodation,spacious and very well appointed it lacks nothing.fantastiic views with secret door to beach having great appeal to children and (big children).a small negative is the parking issue but soon overlooked and small price to pay for such a fabulous stay. only wish we had had the opportunity to have stayed longer,have no hesitation in recommending.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wither1
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Large, but cosy house with magnificent views. Kingsand is very well served with pubs/restaurants. Great place to stay. Happy to recommend to others.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for an active family holiday”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had been invited to a wedding at Polhawn Fort and required accommodation for our young family (children aged 5 and 9) and my elderly (but reasonably active) 83 year old mum. I found this house on Tripadvisor and thought it looked perfect. We were not disappointed.

The wedding was in the middle of the week so we decided to make a holiday of it and booked for a full week. We spent most days walking the dogs, swimming in the sea, kayaking, running, going on long walks and generally enjoying the surrounding area. We parked the car in the village car park and left it there for the week. The only time it moved was to take my mum to the wedding venue (which was only 2 miles away) and back, other than that everything we wanted to do was in walking distance.

My mum had no trouble with the stairs up to the property as they were quite shallow and had a hand rail to help her. She also had no problems with the ups and downs of Kingsand and Cawsand and I think she came home fitter than when we first arrived. On the times she did not want to come out with us, she spent either down by the sea or sat in the living room watching the ever changing scenery of the estuary. The MOD were on manoeuvres so we were treated to all sorts of ships and submarines. She also took my daughter over on the foot ferry to Plymouth for a day out.

We had our main food shop delivered by an online grocery supermarket but kept stocked up on essentials from the local shop that was within very easy walking distance.

Under the stairs up to the property provided us with somewhere to store our kayak, oars, wetsuits etc so we did not need to bring wet things into the house or back to the car, and the gated passage down to the sea allowed for easy access to the bay from the property rather than having to carry our stuff through the village houses.

This property was also perfect for our dogs. The beach was dog friendly and the fields with coastal path was just above the house. Our dogs slept in a crate, which helped to keep the house clean, and there was plenty of room for this.

The setting is as idyllic as the pictures suggest. We had the most fantastic holiday and look forward to returning one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: The need to walk everywhere may not have been so great if the weather had been bad
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveR304...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful house in a superb location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The house is everything the brochure says it is. Very well equipped, comfortable with amazing views from the kitchen, lounge and master bed. The shop is within easy walking distance and there are decent eating places again within easy walking distance.
The only negative was our last night when we had arranged to eat at the "Rising Sun" there were 6 of us, our son and his wife and their 3 year old and 3 month old. It was a disaster, they brought spagbol for the 3yo which was really spicy, the noise made it impossible to have a conversation. It is not suitable for families. All the locals we met were friendly and the small issues we had were quickly resolved by the manager

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoGB
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Excellent location for walking Rame Head and for Mount Edgcumbe Park . Accommodation beautifully presented with stunning views over the bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$158
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing