We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEST NIGHT SLEEP IN YEARS”
other travellers have booked this property
Shippen Cottage - outdoor dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shippen Cottage - outdoor dining area
Living area with wood burner Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Shippen Cottage - outdoor dining area
Living area with wood burner
Dining area
Double galleried bedroom
Twin bedroom downstairs
Eight acres of woodland to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Herodsfoot, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ravenfore...
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST NIGHT SLEEP IN YEARS”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018



We spend 10 nights in the Shippen Cottage and loved it.

Cosy and comfortable with a fantastic log-burner. The kitchen is well equipped and the main bedroom on the mezzfloor is fantastic. It’s a perfect combination of rustic and luxury at the same time (everything was spotlessly clean).

The landlords are very friendly, nothing was too much for them. They even shared the produce of their chickens with us, resulting in having a great breakfast every morning.

The surrounding is peaceful and tranquil with only a stream nearby, hence the best night sleep I had in ages.

Highly recommendable and we will be back next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We would love to see you again soon.

Faye and Mark Edwardes
Tresarran Cottages Cornwall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mojorobin...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hide away”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed in the Shippen cottage in a very secluded area so peaceful love to come back after a day out light the fire and have a meal and glass of wine in a nice cosy atmosphere and the chickens running freely in the garden. We will be back next year. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a fantastic place to get away from our busy lives & with our dog too.
The cottage is beautiful, super clean, comfortable, well equipped & set in such beautiful surroundings.
Short drive to beautiful Talland Bay, Looe & Polperro.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owners & they made us feel so welcome.
Had the most relaxed holiday ever!!
Will definitely go back & would recommend it if you want to get away for some peace & quiet.
A little bit of heaven in Cornwall

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. WE would love to see you again soon.

Faye and Mark Edwardes
Tresarran Cottages Cornwall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Family friendly cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely stay for one week in Shippen Cottage. Faye (the owner) and her family were all very friendly and immediately made us feel very welcome.
The child friendly gardens with plenty of play equipment to use, kept the children entertained for the time we spent around the cottage, but just a short 15 min drive away in ether direction is Looe and Polperro.
The cottage is very clean and has all the amenities that you would require for a self-catering holiday. The main supermarkets all deliver to the door, with Sainsbury's being very reliable for us. The cottage sits in a beautiful valley with a stream running past. There are plenty of walks through the forest, with a café stop at the end. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. It was such a pleasure to meet you all. We would love to welcome you back again soon.
Many thanks
Faye and Mark Edwardes
Tresarran Cottages Cornwall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becxzs
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and spacious”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Shippen cottage is a spacious delight. Set in woodland with a couple of other cottages around it is a real idyll. I spent a week there between jobs when I was looking for somewhere peaceful to study. I loved the open space and the balcony style bedroom. The grounds of Tresarran are beautiful with walks in the woods a real peaceful treat. You feel like you are the only person on earth. There is wifi if you don't want to "get away from it all". There is a wood burner in the cottage but as I was on my own I didn't give it a go - though if (when) I return with my family I will try it out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks
Faye and Mark Edwardes
Tresarran Cottages Cornwall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing