We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting and great hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barn Owl Cottage

Plenty of room to park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plenty of room to park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Plenty of room to park
Family bathroom with shower over the bathtub
Private garden and picnic table for the cottage
Table tennis table/games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mle793
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful setting and great hospitality”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Patrick could not have been more welcoming- there were fresh scones with clotted cream/jam on arrival as well as milk in the fridge! Great cottage for young kids with plenty of outside space, swings etc and pets to amuse. Comfortable and cosy accommodation. Great base to explore Cornwal with numerous attractions within a short drive away. Free wifi, clear directions. Cannot recommend highly enough, would love to return again!
Thankyou Patrick!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Family friendly
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderful cottage, warn and cozy. Great location with plenty to see and do even in the winter months. We walked daily with our dog and all loved it. Nice to have easy parking and a dog friendly garden. Thanks and we hope to be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely, friendly atmosphere
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
294helen
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stay at barn owl cottage”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We arrived very late on the Friday night, having driven for 9hours. It was too late for a visit from the owner, we met them the next day and they were lovely. It was our first time in this rental, although we are not new to the area. The living area is bright with beautiful exposed beams. The rather large downside was im afraid the level of damp in the cottage. I have 2 young children, the twin room they were in had wet bedding on one bed that was on the external wall side. The other bedroom had damp too. The smell was obvious from opening the front door. A bathroom with no window I fear, adds to this issue. The owner was accommodating and apologetic, changing the bedding. The management company brought along a heavy duty dehumidifier, which we had on every day......which filled up every day. Should you know damp houses, you will realise this is damp for that much water to be sucked out of the atmosphere. It was a real shame actually, as the setting and owners are lovely and make a smashing fruit scone. I wanted to be honest.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind comments but obviously the issue of damp is something that we take very seriously. A damp cottage could have a severe impact on our business
The building is 130 years old made traditionally with Cornish stone without cavity walls and is not as efficient as modern buildings so therefore damp could be an issue.
Following your stay we have checked all feedback received both onsite to us, the previous site owners and via the booking agents as far back as we can (about 5 years) and have found no mention of any damp. Obviously not everyone will raise concerns and that in itself doesn?t mean that there hasn?t been problems.
This week the cottage has been empty with no heating and the weather has been wet. We had a local damp proof specialist, who carried out work on our cottage previously, to do a damp survey and check all walls. The meter readings given indicated no issues and inspection of the walls found them to be cold but no moisture or aroma. We will continue to monitor this over the winter .
The cottage was empty for a few weeks prior to your arrival, unheated but with made up beds. This was a mistake on our behalf and in future we will put clean bedding on either on the day or day before arrival and ensure the heating has been running for some time to heat the place through thoroughly. We did also notice during your stay that you had windows and the front door open which, if running de-humidifiers, will obviously collect a lot of moisture.

We are sorry that you had concerns and we will continue to check to make sure there remains no issues with damp in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrandrew
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in a lovely quiet spot”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked a three night stay here at the last minute, and were pleasantly surprised. The cottage was very good value, very comfortable, and the owners were very helpful and friendly. We particularly liked the provision of a high chair, the comfortable king size bed and the free wifi. We also loved the area, which was incredibly quiet. As a bonus, we wandered down the lane and met a local lady who owns goats, who invited our 5 year old son into her farm to meet her animals. He was enchanted. Lots of fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edsix
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super hideaway ”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a super week here with wife and dog. Owners couldn't be more helpful or nicer folk. Quiet location up a single track road but not far from a nice pub or the town of Helston and Porthleven.

Accommodation has everything you'll need and is set in large grounds with gardens and field. Great for kids and dogs to run around.

Great base for exploring Lizard Peninsula and points west to Lands End.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing