We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation in a perfect situation.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Watch House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watch House by night with guest's boat on private slipway. The Watch House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Watch House by night with guest's boat on private slipway.
The Watch House
The Watch House
View from lounge with wall bed closed
Wall bed folded down for use
IKEA leather chairs
Dining area
Kitchen refiited for 2014
The bedroom
Shower room refiited 2015
View from bay window looking left
The Quay from Watch House bay window
The beach at low tide
Looking back to Gorran Haven from SW Coast Path to Mevagissey
Vault Beach from SW Coast Path to The Dodman.  Gorran Haven behind headland.
Beach in February
The Watch House from the Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gorran Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Russell72...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a perfect situation.”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We could not fault the Watch House in any way. We had everything we needed and more. What could be better than the view from the living room window across the bay! We will definitely be back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slugdude1
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach as as your Garden”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Loved my stay at the Watch House. excellently equipped Flat. best sunrises.
Having the Beach as your garden is a treat as it changes all the time with the tides, i was bewitched by it..
More that enough to do nearby I recommend a walk on Dodman Point & a visit to Heligan.
Mevagissey is close by with plenty of Restaurants etc.
Gorran Haven has three nice cafe's a good shop and Fish & Chips. No Pub but the Llawnroc boutique Hotel serves non residents.
The stairs to the flat may be a little steep for some, but they have been ok since the 17th century.
I had a brief Easterly wind during my stay it whipped the sea up quite nicely, good to see it sunny and a little wintry all in one week.
I fished off the quay most days, I did not catch anything but there are worst places to be!
When it got wet & chilly in the evenings it was nice to have a nice cosy Flat so near.
Time to pick a date to book again!!
Good phone signal too Not sure this is a good point though !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Walk to the Car park
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happylobo...
Odiham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful family accommodation. Amazing views and an adventure for the kids!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just spent a fantastic 2 weeks at the Watch House - me, hubby, son (3 yrs) and daughter (1 yr). We have been visiting Gorran Haven for years, but this was our first stay in the Watch House. The property is clean, looked after and very well equipped. The beds are comfortable, especially the fold out bed in the lounge. It suited my family very well - the kids thought it was such an adventure to be staying on the beach and settled in very quickly. With lovely views of the bay, our evenings were relaxed and cosy, looking out over the bay whilst eating our tea and playing Scrabble. Also a great location if you have a budding fisherman in the family. My husband was on the wall fishing as the sun rose in the morning.

Gorran Haven has a nice little shop called Cakebreads and we even ventured up to the Llawnroc a few times and made use of their play equipment. It's quite expensive in there but a good option for entertaining the kids if you fancy a change from the playground at the top of Bell Hill. Also they have a pool table for older kids.

Porthluney Cove by Caerhays Castle is a good day at the beach as an alternative to Gorran Haven beach. We spent most days in Gorran Haven though as the beach is very safe and there's lots to do with a cafe, kayaks and some shops. Found the chippy a bit expensive and was a bit disappointed that they served frozen chips instead of real chips. The Mermaid Cafe does nice food and even curries at night as they're open til 8.

The only thing I missed was a washing machine, but I think that just comes with having young, messy children!

Will definitely be staying here again hopefully :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kay w
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our second year here and hope to have many more. House right on the beach, stunning views from the lounge window, modern kitchen and bathroom. Everything you need is in the house and the local grocery/post office/bakery is so good, you don't have to leave the village all week. A fish and chip shop, a cafe, a beach store and a couple of bars are all very close by. Hired a kayak on the beach and had a memorable hour in the safe waters of the bay. We photographed a 12 foot basking shark, a young seal and several large jellyfish, from the quay. A really good holiday, which I don't think could have been bettered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAG2014
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total escape - you are right on the beach and cozy lovely cottage”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from the Watch \house. Everything was perfect. Lots of thoughtful touches in the Property. Comfy beds and the fold away bed is ultra comfy and simple to put up and down. Sometimes we even left it down so that if we wanted to watch a late night film I could snuggle with the children in bed! Shower is very powerful. Kitchen all new. We loved the close proximity to Cakebreads and the local bus service totally reliable (think was 471 (our driver was nearly always Natalie) Natalie made our journeys fun and was always friendly and had good local knowledge. We met lots of locals and went to the Halloween pizza night at Cakebreads - it was outdoor in a gazebo and was wonderfully decorated. A place where the locals are really kind and welcoming. A wonderful break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views the location
Liked least: we wished we had a little couch at times as a little couch would of been cozier
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing