We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We have had a great holiday !”
Portholland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portholland
Pond Meadow Kitchen/living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Portholland
Pond Meadow
Kitchen/living area
The view from your sofa....
Kitchen/living area
View from your balcony...
A cooks dream....
I spy with my little eye......
Double bedroom with kingsize bed.
Twin Bedroom
Single bedroom. (Upstairs)
Upstairs hallway...
Bathroom
East Portholland Village
Portholland and Pond Meadow
Our resident chickens...and turkey!
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland cove
View from the driveway....
Kayaks available to hire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Gorran Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Esther D
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“We have had a great holiday !”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have stayed for two weeks at Portholland and we have had such a good time. Of course the wheather was great and we could nearly stay the whole time at the beach (when the tide wasn't high).
To be in the middle of nowhere was the best thing what could happen in the holiday. My husband didn't reach any mails of his boss as his mobile didn't work at Portholland. In the house is wifi so that we were able to have a look for our private mails and some news back from Germany.
All in all we are really thinking of coming back. It was the best holiday we have ever had. The children are playing the whole time to drive to England again. ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beach.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamtheWh...
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The guys that hold the other end of my lead took me to the wonderful Pond Meadow cottage, in East Portholland, This is authentic Cornwall, quiet, peaceful, a wonderful place to stay. Jo and Kris made us all very welcome, great hosts. I met chickens and ducks for the first time, got on OK with them... They do produce the most wonderful eggs that the boss said were some of they best he had ever tasted.

This is a beautiful cosy cottage, within 50 metres of the beach, and oh what a beach, when the tide was out I could run for miles, I went in the sea, and even my two owners took their shoes and socks off and followed me in!

The cottage has everything that you would ever need, we had milk, eggs and 'bubbly' waiting, that my owners drank very quickly.

it was a good idea bringing our supplies and my dog food with us, because you are 'off the beaten track' here, but within 10 minutes you can get to the pretty village of Veryan where there is a small, well stocked shop if you forgot anything.

There are so many walks, along the costal path, and into the valleys.

We loved the place so much that I have told my owners to book again for next year, and they have, I can't wait to get back.

Pond Meadow Cottage has everything that anyone would ever need to enjoy real Cornwall, quiet, peaceful and beautiful, add to that great hospitality and you have the perfect break, we all loved it, Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippappro...
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat, excellent access to beach and coastal walks, ideal for dog lovers!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were made to feel welcome at Pond Cottage and so too was our lurcher, Wolfie. Thank you for the welcome pack of flowers, milk and........wine!!! As it is a couple of miles to any shop, best to arrive with plenty of groceries.
Great beach at low tide for the dog to run along and the walk over to Porthluney beach and cafe with the quaint Caerhays Castle was an exciting descovery. The Ship Inn at Portloe served us a belt busting carvery on Sunday - excellent after the 2 mile hike up and down the cliff path.
Perhaps an ensuite loo would make the double room downstairs more user friendly, but we really enjoyed our holiday, thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serene location, lovely view of the sea through kitchen porthole and great walks along the coast paths.
Liked least: Lack of shop or pub in the village, so we were dependent on driving to a shop/pub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkashan
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous, dog friendly, walking area.”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was our first trip to Cornwall's south coast & even though it didn't 'wow us' like the north side does, we would return again to Portholland ( & of course to the lovely Pond Meadow Cottage ) as we were made to feel more than welcome with our dogs where ever we went. The coastline & surrounding countryside is very pretty & very dog-friendly, which includes the local pubs! :-) The dogs all adored the long beaches of Vault to the east & Carne/Pendower to the west, both a very pleasant walk along the coastal paths. The picturesque village of Veryan, is well worth a visit on the 'inland' walk back from Pendower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Litter on Porthluney Beach!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing