We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW! So Beautiful”

Review of The Old Sawmills

The Old Sawmills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Sawmills
One of the 5 bathrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Old Sawmills
One of the 5 bathrooms
One of the 3 ensuite rooms
6 out of 7 of the bedrooms have superb views over the water
Family room
Medieval quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Golant, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemma J
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW! So Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this last minute after recommendation given to my husband. The whole experience was straight forward and after now visiting and seeing how unique the property is and how to get to it, it could have been so difficult! We were given clear details from Ruth and then when we got to Golant we were met by Ruth's friend who took us by boat to The Sawmills, when we went under the bridge we were in complete amazement at the view in front of us, so perfect! The house was lovely, never before have I been somewhere that didn't make me want to clean! It was spotless! Sammy who was sorting out the house showed us around and was lovely, there was everything you needed in the house and a very well equipped kitchen, we couldn't have asked for more and then Morris from the local boat hire company met us with out own motor boat to use for the week, it really was unbelievable. We picked up friends who stayed with us for a night and family members towards the end of the week, it had the space to do it. The dogs loved the freedom and the lake to swim in and 2 of the teenagers in the party are keen musicians and had their own recording session with Tom Joyce ( no relation to us or the Tom Joyce in our party) and were buzzing - Tom was patient and so professional. I could go on and on about this forever but I think you get the idea. Thank you to Ruth, Morris, Sammy and Tom for your kindness, we will be back - maybe when the boys record their second album ;-) The Joyce's - September 2013!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An amazing bohemian hideaway in a stunning, secluded setting.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I booked The Old Sawmills for my 30th birthday weekend and stayed with a group of 15 friends. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Thank you Ruth for the warm welcome and Tom for attempting to make us sound like half-decent singers when we braved a recording session! It was everything I hoped it would be and more and we will definitely be back at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The boat journey over from the village.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Reviewed 15 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
katharine...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous relaxing weeks holiday for friends and family”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent venue for 10 adults and 6 children to get together and have fun. As we drove into the village to be picked up by boat and taken to the Sawmills the stress washed away. Stunning way to approach the Sawmills with all our provisions. Lots of walks and things to do locally. The kitchen was very well stocked with equipment and freezer space but we needed more champagne glasses!!! Would love to go back again.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location
Liked least: Not all bed rooms / bathrooms to the same luxury standard
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing