We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic find”
other travellers have booked this property
Swallows main bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows main bedroom
Swallows open-plan lounge/kitchen Threshing Barn (left) and Swallows (right) from main yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Swallows main bedroom
Swallows open-plan lounge/kitchen
Threshing Barn (left) and Swallows (right) from main yard
Threshing Barn (left )and Swallows (right) from main yard
Parking area to Swallows & Threshing Barn, showing children's play area
Swallows outdoor seating & bbq area (Threshing Barn next-door)
Children's Play Area
View from the field behind barns, looking South towards Bodmin Moor
Tree-lined drive leading to barns
Bodmin Moor just a mile away
St Enodoc Church, nr Padstow -  Poet Laureate Sir John Betjeman's buried here
Harlyn Bay, nr Padstow
Footpath along the River Camel from Camelford to Swallows barn, a leisurely 15min stroll
Greenaway Beach, between Polzeath & Daymer Bay - only 30mins drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Camelford, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joannalan
newton
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just returned from my fifth stay at Fenteroon Farm and it was fantastic as always. Have stayed at both the Threshing Barn and also the Swallows depending on size of my group. The cottages are former stables which have been converted to a very high standard. Owners Nigel and Helen are very helpful. Camelford is a great base for holiday in Cornwall.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Thanks for posting your review, it was a pleasure to see you here again & look forward to your next visit! Helen & Nigel, Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola R
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for families of all ages”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a wonderful time had by all!

We stayed for 4 nights. Myself, Husband, 2year old daughter and 7 month old son and it was perfect. So much effort made by the owners to make the children comfortable, toys, games, swing and slide. For the baby a special effort was made with high chair, cot, travel cot/playpen.

Travelling with very small children is tough, but I truly felt welcome here and like nothing was too much trouble.

A great time, would 100% recommend to anyone from teeny babies to the older generation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor bbq and children's play area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
We are thrilled that your family enjoyed their stay in Swallows barn. Thank you for posting this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinw-w...
widnes
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to base your North Cornwall Holiday”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife, dog and I had a short break in Cornwall this week and chose Swallows Barn at Fenteroon Farm Cottages as our base.
What a good decision that was!
The setting, in the Camel River Valley just outside of Camelford was idyllic and peaceful, yet so handy for the main "Atlantic Highway" at the end of Fenteroon Lane and many gorgeous places to visit just a short drive (or walk) away with Port Isaac, Padstow, Boscastle, Tintagel, Rock, Polzeath and Bodmin Moor all within 10 miles.

The accommodation was lovely. We found it to be very clean, well equipped with all the gadgets and equipment you'd expect to make it a home from home... and the bed very comfy. It was a perfect space for us and our dog.

The owners were very helpful and welcoming and close by should you need to ask for information about the local area - though the cottage was well stocked with maps and leaflets on local attractions.
Camelford is a lovely little village with good amenities too.

It's our intention to try to return next year with friends for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for posting this review, we are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in Swallows barn. Looking forward to meeting you again in the future. Nigel & Helen, Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verity201...
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect base for Cornwall holiday”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Having just returned from a weeks' stay in the Swallows cottage, I can honestly say that there is nothing more that I would have asked for (apart from more days off work to stay longer!). The cottage is in a great location to explore Cornwall and it is the perfect place to come home to after a busy day. Helen & Nigel have catered for everything that a family might need during their stay. The cottage is spotless and beautifully furnished and the garden was perfect for our needs.
We had a fantastic time and can't wait to retutn with more family and friends!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Swallows barn, and appreciate the review you have posted. Hope to see you again soon! Nigel & Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave2273
Sparkford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay,everything you could ask for is here”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just had a great weekend away, as a couple we regularly have weekends away to escape the teenagers, unwind and recharge. This is a great place in a great location, the cottages have everything you need, very clean and well presented. Lots of information in the cottage, Helen is very helpful and has genuine local knowledge. We are already working out when we can return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: standard of the accommodation
Liked least: raining on Sunday
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
Wow what a fantastic review Tracey! Thanks so much for taking the time to post this, we look forward to meeting you both again soon. Helen & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing