We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location, comfortable accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Viewpoint

Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Sink into our deep cushioned double bed. Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Master Bedroom
Sink into our deep cushioned double bed.
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
View from the skylight window
Your Entrance Door
Relaxing Sitting Area
Sitting Area
Many charming woodland walks right from the doorstep
Shower Room
View from Trans-Pennine Trail towards Viewpoint. Only 100mtrs away.
Hallway
Hallway
Huskar Memorial, local interest only 200 mtrs away.
Kitchen Area
Kitchen Area
Garden / Barbeques available by request only.
Welcome
Trans-Pennine Trail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barnsley, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sibleyls
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location, comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The accommodation itself was ideal for us, 3 bedrooms, and the main bedroom was big enough for our travel cot for our toddler. Everything was clean when we arrived and Ray was easy to contact and quick to reply. The living room/kitchen was comfortable and the location is lovely, just fields and things around. Just a shame we were only there one night so didn’t get to walk around. The only downsides were there are only electric heaters so it was a bit cold, and the price changed after we booked it which was a bit annoying, and the deposit was very high! But the price apart from the deposit was reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camper731...
1 review
“Perfect for exploring the area. Lots of help and recommendations from Ray and Sue”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We wanted a peaceful base from which to explore the area and Viewpoint is perfect.The village pub and bakery are excellent and we never knew how many attractions were close to Barnsley from the Yorkshire Sculpture park to the Mining Museum where we were taken around a real mine. The walks right from the doorstep were perfect and the Trans Pennine Trail was convenient for cycle ride being only 100 yds away. There is a secure area for our bikes and Ray even helped us with a puncture. We loved the choice of restaurants that Ray gave us, Tiamo in Penistone was a lovely little Italian and the take away fish and chips and the Chinese in Dodworth were a real surprise.
Thanks again Ray and Sue. we will certainly be back soon.
All the best
Jon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thanks Jon, you're very welcome.
Best Regards
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlecDobbi...
Bradford UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cracking little house in a delightful area.”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Super host, lovely house in a pretty place. Perfectly located for exploring the area. Only downsides are the wifi isn't great and the two single bedrooms are connected by a Velux window, so you can hear the other room and see the light being switched on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you Alex, appreciate that and hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Ray and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
294ianh
France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pet owners beware updated”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

What follows is an update to a review posted in June. It has been revised as a result of inaccuracies in the owner's 2nd response ( the first having been removed due to breaching Tripadvisor guidelines! ). Prospective future guests should ask themselves whether they wish to make a booking with an owner who is prepared to resort to such inaccuracy to justify his own ill advised choice of words. Clearly, I have no idea if or how the owner may respond this time but given the previous 2 responses, this should be treated with caution. Please read on.
Pet owners please think twice about booking this property. The owner hopes that you realise that most guests find a dog smell in their holiday accommodation quite distasteful and that is one of the reasons why he is reluctant to take dogs. He says he has had to have the place professionally cleaned to remove the smell in the past and untold damage done to the carpets and soft furnishings by dogs. Not to mention dog pee and dog mess left stinking the place up and covered up by 'responsible' dog owners. We were told all this in an email while we were staying at the property because we had left the dogs unattended to visit a family member regarding funeral arrangements [the owner knew the reason for our stay]. The owner has subsequently tried to claim that these totally offensive remarks were the result of an email by us where I am alleged to have said that any guest staying at the accommodation should expect the place to smell of dogs and should enjoy it. Unfortunately this is inaccurate on 2 counts. Firstly I did not use those words and nor would I as it would be both childish and unacceptable. Secondly and most importantly, the sequence of emails is inaccurate - the words of the owner were actually sent in response to my email apologising for our dogs barking which I agree is unacceptable. My email the owner misquotes was actually sent 2 days after receiving the offensive words quoted above so unless time in Silkstone Common goes backwards, his attempt to give his words some justification is substantially compromised.( I have the email sequence on record together with all the accurate content should the owner care to contradict this). He has also claimed that the dogs were left on the hottest day of the year and there is innuendo that we were somehow being cruel in doing so. The dogs were actually left for 90 minutes maximum in the morning and when we returned the temperature was 21 degs centigrade. He has suggested that they were running around the apartment including bedrooms and seemed distressed and that he was about to call the RSPCA. Unfortunately, the dogs could not have been running in and out of bedrooms as the doors were all closed both when we left and returned so unless they have discovered the ability to both open and close doors, this is nonsense. Also, if the implication is that they were suffering in the heat, this too is nonsense as dogs who suffer heat distress are not likely to run around barking. He has also contradicted himself by claiming on the one hand that we did not give him a live contact number ( this is true as one was not asked for apart from our home phone number) yet that he also claims to have texted me with messages (unreceived as verifiable by phone records). This does not make sense but even allowing for the fact that he did perhaps have a live telephone number, the question that begs to be asked is why text and not ring if the situation was that serious? When we arrived back there was nobody in his property which is located next to the apartment and the dogs were not barking so all this action must have taken place in a very short time frame indeed! Both my wife and I have worked with the RSPCA and other dog rescue centres for at least 30 years and have been thoroughly vetted by all as highly responsible dog owners and to suggest otherwise is something I deeply resent. There was nothing in the terms/conditions of rental to say that dogs could not be left alone. I believe, unlike the owner, that this is such a fundamental rule that merits separate inclusion and that it is wrong to assume that guests should know about it. We do deeply regret that our dogs barked and perhaps caused totally unnecessary concern as this is unacceptable -however, they would only do so as a result of extraneous noise. They are not very large dogs, they are 2 boxers and anyone who knows this breed will know that they never bark without noise around them. Needless to say our dogs had not caused any mess or damage and they and the property were both fine when we returned. We only left them for such a short time because we knew from past experiences in many different properties that all would be well. In fact, this was the reason why we had no problems whatsoever in leaving them despite paying a £200 security deposit which in the end was actually returned with a note thanking us for leaving the property in a good state!
Also, please note the following about the property. Reasonably clean and comfortable although somewhat basic. It is located above a garage block used by the owner's business and there is noise throughout the day from as early as 7am. The owner claims that this is ludicrous and that they only access the garage for a few minutes on one weekend a month. Unless weekends in Silkstone Common run from Monday to Friday and we hit on the "wrong weekend" then this is nonsense. The noise is not all day everyday but it is something to be aware of and does occur at intervals throughout the day from early morning ( 7am on the day of our departure ) to early evening. There is no washer, dryer or freezer located within the property as suggested on the website. A laundry facility does seem to be available at extra charge but this is something you only find out when reading the information that is in the apartment on arrival. There is also no vacuum cleaner in the property itself. Quite what has happened to the freezer is anyone's guess! The apartment is accessed by a fairly steep staircase without a banister, which may cause problems for some people. Finally, despite the name "Viewpoint", there is no view due to light being let in by velux windows high in the roof space.
I am fully aware of the implications of such a review and people booking in future obviously need to take account of all the reviews on the site before staying here. It is true however, that you often only find out the reality following a poor review and the owner's initial response to us said a great deal. Naturally he wishes to preserve the reputation of his property and I respect that. However, to make inaccurate statements about the context of his own words is pushing it rather too far. My advice to any pet owner thinking of booking this property to beware ( the sole reason for writing it in the first place ) is even stronger now than it was when this review was first written.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Home owners beware. This guy is real and out there and could book your place soon. Contact me for details.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorothy b
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend this place”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a family break in this lovely apartment set in a lovely setting and a great little village .When we arrived Sue showed us the apartment and was an excellent host . The apartment was lovely spotlessly clean and the beds where immaculate presented as taking the time to have the bedding beautiful laundered was lovely to see . Nothing was to much trouble for the hosts Ray and Sue if anything we needed. We would certainly recommend Viewpoint for a place to stay in a lovely village and a great friendly pub.Well done to you both makes your holiday thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thanks Dorothy,
Appreciate that, it was a pleasure to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Best Regards and
All the Best for 2017
Ray and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing