We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Viewpoint

Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Sink into our deep cushioned double bed. Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Master Bedroom
Sink into our deep cushioned double bed.
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
View from the skylight window
Your Entrance Door
Relaxing Sitting Area
Sitting Area
Many charming woodland walks right from the doorstep
Shower Room
View from Trans-Pennine Trail towards Viewpoint. Only 100mtrs away.
Hallway
Hallway
Huskar Memorial, local interest only 200 mtrs away.
Kitchen Area
Kitchen Area
Garden / Barbeques available by request only.
Welcome
Trans-Pennine Trail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barnsley, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clarkinsp...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

2nd time at view point had a great time. left it late to book so had to stay at another place in Barnsley for first week of holiday not half as good.so have booked for xmas 2014 now to make sure I have a good time in a excellent place
thank you ray

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our stay throughout the month of December in this apartment. We had some problems with the Internet connection which we eventually accessed but the connection was "poor" and constantly cut out and we had to travel to the nearest McDonald's to use the internet. As we stayed for a longer period of time, for us it would have been good if the washer and dryer was freely accessible without having to bother Ray. If I was being picky I would say that the TV is a little small and the shower water pressure quite slow (but lovely and hot) also the pans (cooking) need to be replaced with new ones.

Ray was lovely and pretty much left us to get on with it which suits us. The apartment is nice and is situated above a triple garage and is more roomy than I expected. Beds were comfortable and the apartment was clean. Cooking facilities were good, plenty of plates and cutlery etc.

For us personally the location was a little far away from where we wanted to be as we were there to visit family over Christmas who lived at the other side of town (our fault and we should have checked into this better) however we are originally from Barnsley and the location is a beautiful part of Yorkshire, great for walks, relaxation and fresh air. We visited the local pub that is within walking distance which was lovely and the local supermarket is a 5-10 minute drive away and Barnsley town centre is only 15 minutes drive. Great access to the motorway and about an hour drive from Manchester airport. All in all a very pleasant stay which we would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Better than a single hotel room for a long period of time
Liked least: Very poor internet connection, small TV, new pans please
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nîmes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and general layout
Liked least: They started putting tarmac down on the road outside first thing in the morning - but that wasn't the landlord's fault!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: to have sepert rooms and not just one like a hotel
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cinders12...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place, nice quiet location, owner is so friendly!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Me and the other half stayed at Viewpoint for two nights. My nephews and my sister ended up staying for one of them which was nice.

We loved this little place. Had everything you would need including towels and tea and coffee.

It is an apartment above the garage so doesn't look much from the outside but is a lovely little place inside.

The owner Ray couldn't help us enough he even reconmended the Penistone country fair (annual fair) which we went to on the Saturday and we all loved it!

Great black out blind in the master bedroom. Comfy bed, nice bedding and towels.

Horses in the surrounding fields were great to watch.

We went to the pub up the road for a drink (I forget the name now) and that was lovely too. Great landlord let us try the scrumpy on tap. Every one knows every one, a right community feel!

Would love to go back and highly recommend!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing