We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
105
88
22
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
88
22
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverthe pubscampi and chipsate herebite to eatpay and displayselection of beersold buildingsunny dayvery pleasant staynice atmospherefull english breakfastwarm welcomehis wifelovely hotelbank holidaycomfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Monday and went here after Anchor was not serving food.
Ordered fish and chips and Goats cheese lasagne.
Fish ans chips were huge and fish was very fresh.
Had a pint of Hobgoblin which was really good.
All in all a very nice experience with friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank courtwilding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Booked room 6 with great views over the river. Fantastic suite in grade II Listed building. Breakfast was huge! We were in Upton for a family wedding so didnt spend any time in bar. Well worth it. Thank you.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mparsons63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Having driven 150 miles with many delays (and en-route to Cornwall) we were glad that we had booked to break our journey. We wanted a place not too far from the M5, and somewhere between Worcester and Cheltenham but, more importantly, it also had to be dog-friendly - The Swan fitted the bill in all respects. We understood that parking was a potential problem but everything went perfectly right from the first phone call. I explained that we have two huge dogs - "no problem, I'll give you the biggest room". Not only that, the extra charge was £5 for both (often £10 per dog). It would have been different in bad weather, but we arrived in hot sunshine to find that our room had a lovely view along the River Severn. Ask for Room 1 when booking! The food on offer is probably best described as 'wholesome' rather than 'fine dining', but our home made Steak and Guinness was extremely tasty, and there was a good choice on the menu. At no time could we say that the staff were anything other than pleasant, friendly and very helpful, and the dogs were rather spoiled. Two big sausages each (at no cost) added to the dogs' treatment! It is a very old building (about 400 years) so there are little quirks such as the water taking a while to run hot, but the place is well kept, clean and interesting. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 1 - biggest room and has a really good view of the river.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Found this when looking for a last minute bank holiday getaway for our little family of 4 (hubby, myself and 2 furbabies)
Well where do I begin....what a fabulous find.
The room was lovely. So clean and well equipped. Parking is limited but staff and other punters offered to have a shuffle round to accommodate. However I’d already found a pay and display only a short walk away so not an issue.
Hotel is right on the river so lovely areas to sit and watch the boats and rowers pass by.
Ralph the host and all the staff were so welcoming and couldn’t do enough for us. Even made sure the furbabies could join us for breakfast. Food in the pub was great and the breakfast was fantastic, well worth it.
We will definitely go back again and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wolfie27778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

It’s such a shame, as it appears they try on some levels to make this place work. We arrived on a lovely sunny day, sat at a clean table sort of overlooking the river through a flood defence architectural disaster and then ate very mediocre food (like back in the 60’s) overcooked chips a burger from a fairground and a bit of salad that’s such a token it’s funny. Plenty of accompaniments all in small packets and my wife had a chicken burger that looked like something from a school cookery class. All this would have been acceptable but the price for the food came to just over £20. It was almost funny. Sadly meals unlike vintage cars or old fashioned values do not get better with time.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews