We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Kootenay........
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kootenay........
Looking from the balcony View from the balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Kootenay........
Looking from the balcony
View from the balcony
Lounge
Rollin lawns at Kootenay
Our view of the River Severn
River Severn
Down stream
Kootenay
Fine and sunny day.....
View from the kitchen
View from the bedroom
View from the lounge
Outside seating area
Kitchen view
The lounge
Open plan kitchen
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Grazing on the meadow
The entrance from the meadow
Severn valley railway
Severn valley railway
Bewdley
Bewdley at dusk......stunning !!!
Good morning Bewdley
Spot of fishing...
Day out !!!
Bewdley at night
Kootenay in the snow
It's cold outside !!!
10lb barble
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bewdley, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BarbelJus...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a weeks stay at Kootenay. Very pretty views. Pretty garden. Ideal location. Very peaceful and relaxing break. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Hi Justin thanks for your review. regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurOug...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday aat Kootenay. The scenary is breathtaking and the chalet and gardens are wonderful - as is the covered outdoor seating area. Fishing was fun - caught my biggest ever barbel - and the access to Severn Valley Railway and Safari Park added an extra dimension. Would recommend Kootenay to others and will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Hi Arthur thanks for the review on Kootenay regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here at the beginning of August 2015 and was very upset with the disgusting condition of this place. It was absolutely filthy, all of the air vents have about 10 years worth or cob webs, dust and grease in them. The fire extinguisher was 19 YEARS out of date, It expired in 1996! There's 2 drainage pipes across the top of the fire escape footpath so let's hope no one has to use it at night as they're likely to trip over. My 18 month old boy picked up a very sharp small piece of metal from the lounge floor which he almost put in his mouth within 10 minutes of arriving. The oven was greasy, shower was dirty, the mattresses are awful and to be honest the whole place needs knocking down. The owner is rude and not very helpful so I would go to all measures to avoid staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
In response to this review, we at Kootenay can make the following points:
• We take pride in ensuring the cabin is cleaned to a standard that is fit for rental. We have a routine in which we clean and work our way through a checklist to ensure we cover all areas.
• The customer is correct that there is a serviceable fire extinguisher that does display one of its previous owner’s historical stickers on it with the so mentioned date on it. There is also a brand new fire extinguisher in the property.
• There are three routes to access the cabin and on exit of the property they are all accessed from the immediate decking area.
• We do not know what the sharp metal item the customer refers too but we have made a visual check to see if any internal damage to the property could be responsible but cannot find anything.
• As owners we clean the oven after each rental and from the condition the cooker was left in after this particular rental, we as owners was horrified.
• The comfort of the beds in the cabin is left to individual opinion of each guest but we do take these comments on board for the future.
• The property is structurally sound and the comments to knock it down are unrealistic.

Holiday Lettings provides guidance for all customers who are unhappy with their rental to contact the owners direct and not wait until after they have returned home. We would have been happy to attend the property on the day of arrival to help resolve any issues. We believe that customer satisfaction is important and in our response to the customer we apologised that they felt dissatisfied and assured them that we take negative feedback just as important as the positive feedback as this is how we improve the service that we offer. We did as a token of good will offer the customer a discount should they wish to return to the cabin in the future. We do not agree that our response makes us rude we believe it to be fair.

We feel that from the comments made in the review and the nature of the messages received from this customer added to the fact that the cabin was left in such a terrible state from these guests that this review is not a true reflection of Kootenay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Berna...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful getaway”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

From the first view of the well kept gardens to the very clean and well presented let, the powerful shower was an added bonus. No complaints to be had. The fishermen were happy with their catches among which were a large Barbel and a 2lb 2oz roach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quite, pleasant suroundings
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne r
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Have just arrived back from our stay was absolutely amazing ,,,beautiful senery,,,, fishing was brilliant caught 13lb barbel :) would definitely recommend this place ,,looking at coming back already ,;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing