We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange staff & food not good”
Review of Seahorse

Seahorse
Ranked #14 of 41 Restaurants in New Brighton
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend & I went on Tuesday for our lunch the deal meal .. We both decided on the fish Chios & mushy peas & brown bread & butter the bread was hard 2 little bits if butter for 2 rounds of bread which was forgotten to be brought out I had to ask for it to a young guy ... The chips where not the best the mushy peas where of ... The fish was awful .. greasy battered & when you found the fish its was grey .. We eat what we could we spoke to a guy who walked there a young lady came over & said it was pollock & that's what it looks like the cod is the more expensive meal .. We where offered a sweet each .. It was not nice so rich .. We didn't get asked what we could have ,, think the ice cream would have been nicer ... I've been there lots of time but doubtful now we will return

Thank pollylilyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward A, General Manager at Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi

I'm very sorry you seem to have not had the experience you are used to here. Please accept my apologies and if you feel you need to contact me further, please do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rude staff not disabled friendly even after asking to be moved on to one of the empty tables around up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank ganml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward A, General Manager at Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm very disappointed that you were not happy with your visit. Could you please contact me with some more details so I can clear up the issues you encountered? Please email me directly on 1738@greeneking.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

As usual we had some great meals, a very fast service, Carole was very good as usual, got us a finger bowl and extra napkins, such a friendly lady and very good at her job, we look forward to going there

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janmacparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward A, General Manager at Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks you so much for the review. Brilliant to read how well you were looked after! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived here at 1:20pm on a Saturday, ordered and main course arrived very quickly. Then we waited ... nothing ... went and asked for desserts, long wait and someone came and cleared table. It's now 14:44pm and we're still waiting for dessert ... tempted just to go.

Thank Avocado2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward A, General Manager at Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thanks for the review. I'm not sure what could have happened but will look into it? Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Came for food with my partner and the little one for dinner, was really busy and a bit of a wait to order but staff couldn't have moved faster if they tried, I hope they get paid well because they were run off their feet and the place was clean and tidy despite the rush. Walls in the toilets need a good clean but the facilities themselves were fine. Particularly a young girl with coloured hair stood out to me, she was practically running the show on the floor, deserves a bonus for her hard work.
Food was more than reasonably prices and nothing to complain about, good sized portions of decent food.

Thank Toria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward A, General Manager at Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thank you for the review. I will pick up with house keeping about the walls. I will also pass on to the floor staff your review. They'll be very pleased to read that guests have noticed their hard work!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seahorse also viewed

New Brighton, Wirral
 
New Brighton, Wirral
New Brighton, Wirral
 

Been to Seahorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing