We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts and animals”

Farmtastic Animal Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Animal farm and petting zoo near Chippenham Wiltshire. Get hands on with our animals, including alpaca's, llamas, miniature's, farmyard favourites, birds and rare and unusual breeds. With a host of activities available there's plenty to keep the kids and grown-ups busy!
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Great place and the people working there make it! Petting area to hold and stroke some of the smaller animals, Snacks for you and feed for the animals available at reasonable prices. Great selection of farm animals and a few others (ostrich, alpaca etc). A big slide and plenty of scooters to play on too (land by play area seems to hold the water a bit so take wellies if its been raining). Hand washing station provided as are multiple anti bac hand wash points around the site. The team were very friendly and knowledgeable! Brilliant day all round for the little ones. CASH ONLY when I visited.

Thank tim_meek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmtastic1, Guest Relations Manager at Farmtastic Animal Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Glad to hear you had a great time. All our staff are volunteers who give up their weekends to help with the animals and as you will have experienced are very knowledgeable and passonate about the animals. We have tried to get a card machine but it is proving very difficult so we are cash only currently but we will accept payments via internet banking if you forget to bring cash. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 20 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 17 reviews
"friendly animals"
in 7 reviews
"petting area"
in 8 reviews
"barn owl"
in 6 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 12 reviews
"lovely farm"
in 5 reviews
"small animals"
in 9 reviews
"food van"
in 3 reviews
"outdoor toys"
in 3 reviews
"serves hot"
in 2 reviews
"hot food"
in 6 reviews
"working farm"
in 5 reviews
"great couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic morning"
in 2 reviews
"spent a lovely afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"be visiting again"
in 5 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

There are certainly lots of animals and they seem well cared for and hosts very friendly.
There is feed to purchase for the animals and they don't hold back when you have some they come running to be fed.
We did have doubts when we arrived on a lovely sunny Saturday afternoon and there was only one other car in the car park, but we didn't want to disappoint the kids so paid our money only to find our 4 and 5 year old didn't seem particularly interested in the animals, no fault of the farms. However we thought we'd covered that possibility as there were photos of lots of kiddies toys and there were, lots. Unfortunately the play area was a mud bath and so were some of the walkways. The kids were very upset when one got plastered in muddy water after running to choose a toy to ride on and we decided to leave.
Toilets are portaloos, not great for small children.

Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmtastic1, Guest Relations Manager at Farmtastic Animal Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review. On average we get around 150 people visiting every weekend, sometimes more, but I must admit it was quiet that weekend. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather and resulting puddles and do advise people to bring wellies at this time of year or if we have had wet weather. Over the coming years we hope to make some improvements and toliets are on the list but the care of the animals comes first and any money left over will be invested into making the facililites better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Even though the weather was horrible, the farm was still a lovely place to be. I walked a goat on a lead,held a chick and fed deer, goats, donkeys and ponies.

All of the animals looked happy, had the company of others and had large natural enclosures.

You can hold the smaller animals such as the rabbits, chicks and guinea pigs, so it's a great introduction for children.

Great owners too. A highly recommended trip for the afternoon.

Thank jarvo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmtastic1, Guest Relations Manager at Farmtastic Animal Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hope to see you again next year when the weather is a bit better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely half day here at Farmtastic. At first we were met by the most consummate of hosts, we were given an informative, welcoming and friendly greeting explaining all about what there is to do and which animals there are to hold.

The animals are superb, very very well looked after with lots of space, recreational props and are only too happy to be loved by visitors. There are over 100 animals all with their own story that are truly fascinating.

We bought the feed and really enjoyed experiencing the animals individual characters.

I honestly feel they are under charging entry, it's a wonderful farm and the owners and staff should be extremely proud of what they have achieved :) we'll be back and telling our friends!!

THANK YOU, for everything!

Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmtastic1, Public Relations Manager at Farmtastic Animal Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Customer Service is something we pride ourselves on, so thank you for your comment confirming that we have got it right!

Hope to see you and your friends again next season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This is not like some of the other animal places which you get a sense of as soon as you enter - it is run and staffed by the very enthusiastic owners and their pride in the friendliness of the animals is easy to see. They have a selection of small animals you are encouraged to hold and stroke, others you can watch as they leap around happy in their surroundings.

Out in the fields, you can wonder around freely to explore the range of animals on display - the majority of the animals are only too keen to come up to the fence to greet you and receive some petting, or some food if you have decided to take some to give to the animals.

It was a wet day when we were there so we couldn't take advantage of the play area the owners have established, and our son was too young to enjoy taking the sheep and goats for a walk, but these activities are on offer.

Thank ericOnHoliday2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmtastic1, Guest Relations Manager at Farmtastic Animal Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

So glad you had a good time - we try to make it all about the animals rather than a money making venture. All our staff are volunteers who give up their time and I think that shows in their enthusiasm and pride in showing off the animals to visitors

We hope to see you again next year when your son is a little older to enjoy the play area and take a sheep and goat for a walk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmtastic Animal Farm also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to Farmtastic Animal Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;