We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed having seen on-line menu”
Review of The Marlborough

The Marlborough
Ranked #14 of 69 Restaurants in Marlborough
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A stunning contemporary menu using only the best produce with an emphasis on local products and suppliers. Bar Food, Vibrant and varied with all day grazing and British Tapas. World class wines, local beers and fantastic cocktails. Six individually styled boutique rooms in the stunning 15th Century Building.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The current menu on-line looked good so we booked as were staying in the area on Easter Sunday night and wanted to make sure food was available. The menu offered was nothing like what we had seen in advance (and the one outside was the same as the on-line one) so were disappointed with the selection. 3 of us had burgers which were fine. The fourth ordered Tuna steak with sweet potato risotto but is was not risotto. There was no rice - just a whole lot of sweet potato. Very disappointing. There were no prawns, steak, Wagu or otherwise or any of the other interesting dishes we had hoped for. The Bombadier beer was ok - not a favourite though. The atmosphere was much more pub like than restaurant - again not what we had anticipated.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Starnurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Starnurse2,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the lack of choices on the Easter Sunday menu, unfortunately because all of the food we serve is fresh it is not always possible to get fresh ingredients delivered on a bank holiday weekend, therefore we serve what we can get, meaning a much more reduced menu. Regarding the tuna dish, all members of staff are told to explain that the sweet potato and fennel make up the risotto, there is no rice so perhaps there was a miscommunication. I'd also like to point out that we have a separate restaurant in the back of the pub, so perhaps you would've rather dined there than in the bar for the atmosphere you had wanted. We hope that you'd be willing to come back on a normal weekday/weekend to sample the dishes that you wanted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time I've been to this restaurant and it was great the food and service were excellent. The tempura prawns for starter were excellent as was the fish and chips mains. A lovely restaurant and evening

Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Neil P,

Thanks so much for the review. The tempura prawns are one of the most popular dishes on the menu, for good reason! We're glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went there with a friend for lunch during the week. The atmosphere is very good and the staff are so friendly and helpful! We ordered a light lunch, the quality was excellent so we ordered some more! The person serving us (Jay) had a great sense of humour and offered many options of types of Jus!! Later on we met the excellent chef and the owner, all were very friendly and down to earth and not at all pretentious!! Will definitely go back. The interior of the pub is great too, also has a real fire which is very welcoming on a chilly day! Can’t wait to go back! Everything there is perfect!

Thank Liando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Liando1,

Thanks so much for writing us a review. Jay and I were just talking about how we remember you coming in! We're so glad you enjoyed all of the food you tried (including the jus)! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Passing bye we decided to sample the beers. Three on and ok but not brilliant selection. Pub looked busy and quite cosy.

Thank ijmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Three generations of our family celebrated Mother’s Day lunch together. Lovely atmosphere. Very friendly staff welcomed us to possibly the best Sunday pub lunch we have ever. Reasonably priced, with efficient fast service and really delicious food - the meat was tender and extremely tasty, and the portions were generous. Desserts equally impressive. We shall certainly return next time we are in Marlborough. As my daughter and her family have just moved into the town, this could become a regular haunt of ours. Top marks.

Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Richard,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're so happy that you were so pleased with everything, from food to service! So nice to hear that everyone's hard work is appreciated. We would love to welcome you back soon.

Beth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marlborough also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing