We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, wonderful staff”

The Kings Arms Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 36 Restaurants in Malmesbury
Price range: US$3 - US$52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We place a great importance on the quality of food and drink. Whether it's a quick bite to refuel or a meeting over dinner, we recognise that meal times should offer quality, choice and flexibility. The emphasis is on our local steaks as well as cooking tasty food that is fresh and seasonal, using ingredients that are grown or supplied locally. Our head chef is very passionate about steaks. Our meat is dry-aged for 28 days to bring out the full concentration of flavour, then cut in house. This enables us to have various cuts and weights to suit our customer's individual tastes. We also use other local beef from Sudeley Farm (Cotswolds) and Berrywood Farm (Wroughton), this gives us the opportunity to have beef from breeds such as Hereford, Dexter's and Limousin.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

I just popped in with my sons for a drink and immediately we walked through the door we felt welcome. A lovely smell of wood smoke, friendly and attentive staff and a VERY nice cappuccino made for a memorable stop-off.

    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words Julia :) We try to be as welcoming as possible, so love to hear it is well received.

We have recently renovated our bar area too, if you ever want to stop in for something a little stronger.

Kindest regards, the team at The Kings Arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Place was very busy and staff were very pleasant, but unfortunately the meal itself was not up to standard, meat looked nice but was dry and probable standing too long, vegetables ok but carrots uneatable, I like my veg underdone but raw! no. Decided to have pudding chose ice cream which came in a WARM PLATE could not fault the staff and lets hope that they sort these problems out have had plenty of carvery lunches far nicer elsewhere

1  Thank beaumot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi there, thank you for your review. We're very sorry you did not enjoy your carvery with us. We try to keep our veg al-dente, but I will speak to the chef about this and make sure it is more suited to everyone in future, as it might've been too much.

The warm plate for ice cream is not good enough, and I am again very sorry. As noted it was busy so it had most likely come out of the dishwasher, but I will talk to the team about making sure bowls for cold-desserts are quickly chilled prior to serving where possible.

We do appreciate your review as we look to continue to improve our food and offerings. Thank you also for your kind words on our staff, it's a pleasure to be able to give them positive feedback.

We hope to serve you a more enjoyable meal in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We wanted a hot drink after me wife and son had been out in the snow. We walked into a lovely warm cosy area r fire going. It was nice and quiet apart from the owner and the 2 goregous dogs. Great service she went and got somone to serve us. And there on the bar was some lovely cakes . yes indeed we had some. A lovely warm drink yummy cakes a great time all round. The owner was lovely she spoke to us . Chosen a good time as not long after a few other people turned up.

Thank simonbZ1694HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Simon,
Thank you so so much for your kind words. We are under new management and continuing with a great team of staff, looking to improve more and more each day.

We are very happy you had a good stop with us, especially with our limited staff members on the snow day! It's also very good to hear you enjoyed the cakes, as they are a new addition to our cafe area.

We hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

4 of us ate here early on a Friday evening. 3 chose the fish and chips which was accompanied by a 'drizzle' of pea puree on the side of the plate. The actual fish and chips was visibly overcooked and dry. My meal, the tagliatelle was ok, a large portion, accompanied by delicious garlic bread. The young man who served us was pleasant and helpful but overall a disappointing experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Youngpensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This establishment used to have a bar in the restaurant and a "younger" persons bar adjacent to the restaurant. The bar in the restaurant has gone and you have to drink rubbish larger/Arkell's in the "youngsters" trash area. This pub used to be my favourite... will not go again!

Thank bmcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms Restaurant also viewed

Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Kings Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing