We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$157
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Radnor Arms(Malmesbury)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
The Horse Guards(Brokenborough)
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$883
US$787
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinkney Court B&B(Malmesbury)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Trucklebridge(Malmesbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
29
42
29
31
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
42
29
31
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot showerstaff were welcomingroom was clean and comfortablevery pleasant stayenglish breakfastboth nightstown centreevening mealfull englishabbey
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Had a really great stay at the hotel. Staff were fantastic and very welcoming. The rooms are quaint and clean and the shower was brilliant. The new management informed us of refurbishments going on and we’ll definitely be back. Fantastic cake and coffee too!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lozzy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We're constantly improving the rooms and updating the hotel where possible to improve our guest's stay, so it's brilliant that this is working as intended.

Also, thank you for the kind words on our staff, as we love to provide them with positive and reassuring feedback.

We hope to see you again in the future, whether for a hotel stay or a meal on your way through town.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Picked at random, on the way to South Wales, we were very impressed by the lovely town of Malmesbury and the quaint, historical coaching inn, the Kings Arms. Entering the car park through the old coach entrance was great sport! The hosts of six weeks were extremely friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and had a decent shower. Higgledy, piggledy 16th Century architecture means uneven floors and walls etc but that is all character. The new owners have some major plans and are already turning round their restaurant business. Our evening meal was very enjoyable, the beer and wine was good and service great. The open fire was also much appreciated! We enjoyed our stay, thank you and wish you all the best for the future. We would definitely return if in the lovely area.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Steve, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your glowing review!

We're trying to improve everyday, updating the hotel where we can, but the classic character must remain! We're striving to do our best as a team too, so it's great that it is coming across to our guests.

Also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal with us, as that is a big part of what we do.

We'd love to have you back in the future, and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The staff are very friendly and the food was very good. The rooms are suitable. the new management provided my room with a mattress topper, greatly increasing comfort. The sitting area is spacious and the fireplace is cosy

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali55662018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We're constantly improving our room quality with our new management team, with the goal of maintaining great value for money for people who stay with us.

It's good to hear you enjoyed the food and cafe area, as well as the staff service, as we believe these are a big part of a good hotel stay!

We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Lovely hotel and pub in the middle of the town. Rooms excellent value for money and to a high standard. Really enjoyed the hot shower on returning from a day out in the snow and an hours drive covering just 15 miles from Limpley Stoke. Large car park on site. Good choice of breakfast in the morning which set me up for my 4 hour long drive home on Friday morning. Bar has a good choice of real ale with wood stove to sit close to if your lucky enough to bag the table. Good evening menu with local food.

Room Tip: Rooms in old stable block accessible no stairs
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank APT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're under new management, so I'm ecstatic to hear we are doing things right with improving the stay with us.

I am glad we were able to make the long drive through the snow a little more bearable. Also great that you enjoyed the breakfast, as that is always important with a hotel.

We hope you stay with us again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Stayed here for 1 night on Monday 5th February in "stable" room 9. Really clean and comfortable bed. Room warm. Lovely evening meal and breakfast. Located right in the centre of Malmesbury, minutes from the Abbey and town centre. Lots of private parking through the very tight entrance. Staff extremely pleasant and always ready to help. The buildings date back hundreds of years so is not a modern travel hotel with square walls which many come to expect nowadays.(hence probably the negative reviews) I would add that had I stayed in the summer the 3x "stable" rooms are 10 meters away from the beer garden which could be an issue if you are seeking an early night. However would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hi Ian, thank you for your kind words. Reviews are much appreciated by the team, whether it's positive commendation or more critical areas we can improve on, it's all welcome.

We're in the process of gradually renovating the hotel, prioritising certain areas as we go to improve the stay in every room. It will always have character and will always be a historic building, but hopefully we can keep getting better for everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews