We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
214
203
56
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
203
56
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar bar market place lovely old hotel four poster overlooking the market square the hotel car park old coaching inn lots of character pork steak single room poached eggs sunday lunch pie room was large lovely room black pudding
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a 2 night break. Pleasantly surprised at the size of the room which overlooked the market place. Staff were friendly and helpful, the evening meals were very good as was the breakfast with quality ingredients well presented. One of the best market town hotels we have stayed in. The free car park at the rear of the hotel was appreciated. Devizes attractions were within easy walking distance including the impressive Caen Hill Lock flight (29 Locks). Devizes has a number of pedestrianised streets with an interesting selection of shops, pubs and eating establishments.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adrian437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

quaint hotel with plenty of room. clean, in central location in Devizes.
evening meal in fine dining restaurant was one of the best I have ever had.
attentive staff in restaurant both in evening and at breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ruthge2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

An excellent venue to spend a couple of days, exploring Devizes and the surrounding area. The accommodation was good, clean and considering the age of the building well maintained. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was particularly good, well presented and reasonably priced. The bar prices were, if anything slightly high, but on the whole we had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank douglashowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Arranged to meet visiting friends in the hotel front bar, something we do several times a year but this was the first time since the hotel changed hands.

Sadly our friends had had to wait an age to be served, they had been ignored several times by the staff. Upon arrival we waited for 10 minutes before deciding to leave without having a drink.

I popped into the side bar, expecting to see the bar staff working flat out, only to find two young lads behind the bar playing catch rather than serving.

Very sad to see this once super hotel letting its standards slip under the new management.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Furgie_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

From looking at previous reviews it seems this hotel is under new management - they may have their work cut out.

First the positives - nice, very helpful staff helped us sort storage for our bikes and made check in very straightforward. The hotel itself has potential - it has loads of genuine character but...

It seems that it has been a very long time since any money has been spent on the place - I’d guess our room was last refurbed in the eighties. The plumbing worked but, the bed was aging and the decor had seen better days.

There were two significant issues for. First our room facing the town square was incredibly hot. It wasn’t a steaming summer day - in fact it rained during the evening we stayed - but we still needed the windows open. We had seen a previous post about noise from the night club at weekends. We stayed on a Wednesday and the noise came from teens parading their cars and stereos at 1.30 in the morning and then the market holders starting to set up at 5am. This heat vs noise issue needs to be resolved before I could ever recommend this hotel.

But what about cost - £114 for B&B for two adults and a child for a family room. Roughly the same as you would pay for a premier inn. Sorry, I’d look for an alternative.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews