We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic birthday weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Exterior
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Bedroom 2 - The Cottage
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom - The Stable
Bedroom 1 - The Cottage
Dining Table
Dining Table
Lounge
Lounge
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Bluetooth Music System
Kitchen
View from the Stable
Kitchen
Exterior
Picnic Table
The Wheatsheaf Pub
Stonehenge
Stonehenge
Salisbury Cathedral
The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amesbury, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Denise J
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic birthday weekend”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had booked just for the weekend and really wished we had booked for longer. We stayed in the junior suite which was a great size with a mini kitchen and a large ensuite bathroom, both of which had absolutely everything you could possibly need. Free Wifi and Netflix and a very large collection of dvd's were available for when we could drag ourselves away from the pub opposite, which serves great food and will even deliver to the cottages for you. Our hosts, Hazel and Steve were very friendly and welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area. Very close to both Stonehenge and Salisbury for visit, which give a complete contrast in historical times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, presentation, friendly hosts
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and six girlfriends stayed at Stonehenge Cottages last weekend, and it was absolutely fabulous! The buildings were beautiful, the interior was immaculately presented and the location was simply stunning. The Wheatsheaf pub (located opposite) served lovely food, which could even be delivered to the cottages! I literally can't fault the place, and have already recommend it to other friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilton O
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stonehenge cottages was fantastic”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My Wife and I stayed here between Christmas and New Year for 5 days and absolutely loved it. I totally forgot that we hadn't left a positive review until recently, when our stay came up in conversation, sorry Stephen and Hazel (the hosts) you and your efforts truly deserved a great review as anything was perfect.

If you want lots of beautiful country walks on the doorstep then the location will suit, you can even walk to Stonehenge from the cottage if you feel up to it. The pub opposite was very friendly so much so that a quick drink at around 4pm turned into an invite to join the locals at their table and a 9pm finish! We felt very welcome and managed to hold our own in the rounds of Guinness that flowed.

With Salisbury 10 mins drive or so with its fabulous cathedral and city shops this holiday cottage really did offer us everything. The cottage itself is luxurious inside with all modern necessities and very nice bed linen, which my wife tells me is very important!

If you are lucky enough to get a booking here you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitkin117
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absoultely Delightful!”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We LOVED this cottage! Hazel and Stephen were very gracious and welcoming, and have put so much thought into this rental. It is beautifully appointed and so clean! The beds were really comfortable and had lovely duvets, fluffy pillows and soft throws on them. They included many treats such as food for a delicious breakfast, special soaps, shampoos and conditioners, boards games and DVDs, etc. There was plenty of wood to have a terrific fire in the wood stove in the evening-- so relaxing! And they are directly across the street from a traditional pub, the Wheatsheaf, where we had a wonderful dinner of steak and ale pie. If you are going to visit Stonehenge, you can't go wrong booking this beautiful cottage which is only ten minutes away from the site.Thank you, Hazel and Stephen. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen s
wooburn green
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OMG!! What a find in a stunning location”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a last minute trip to Salisbury to visit family and just by luck found Stonehenge cottages as were looking for Hotel or nice Band B as only needed one nights accommodation.
well we were overwhelmed when we arrived . What a stunning location Lower Woodford is.
The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished and the Owners have covered every detail to offer you a fabulous stay and there is nothing I can think of that they have missed . We were extremely comfortable and really wished we had longer to stay . The log burner was so cosy . We would thoroughly recommend this truer beautiful property to anyone wanting a very upmarket property to have a fabulous stay. We didn't get chance to visit the lively pub across the road as only short visit but will definitely be booking again for a longer .
Only had the opportunity to meet Stephen but he immediately made us very welcome and we felt nothing would be too much trouble for him . This definately is worth in 5 star rating . Well deserved .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing